حساسية القمح لدى الأطفال

د. محمد زبيب :طبيب أطفال ، حساسية وأمراض الرئة لدى الأطفال ، مستشفى الراعي ، لبنان


بات الغلوتين حديث الساعة وموضع استغلال من قبل الصناعة الغذائية. ويعتبر القمح هو أكثر الأطعمة استهلاكاً. وقد تم وصف ثلاث اضطرابات مرتبطة بالقمح: حساسية القمح، الداء البطني، وحساسية الغلوتين غير المرتبطة بالاضطرابات الهضميّة. ((4 ومن أجل التوصّل إلى فهم أفضل لهذه الحساسية، نحتاج إلى فهم ماهية العناصر الغذائية أو المكونات التي تسببها. تصنف بروتينات القم (Triticum Oestivum) إلى مجموعتين وفقاً لسرعة الذوبان في الماء (3).

وتعتبر حساسية القمح ضمن المعدّل بالمقارنة مع الحساسيات الغذائية الأخرى حيث أنّها تظهر لدى أقل من 0.5 ٪ من السكان. وهي ليست شائعة بقدر الحساسية إزاء الحليب والبيض والفستق وجوز الشجر والمأكولات البحرية. ومع ذلك، فهي أكثر شيوعاً من الحبوب الأخرى مثل البيرلي، والجاودار، والشوفان، والأرز (4).
كيف تتجلى حساسية القمح؟ إنّها تؤثر على الجهاز الهضمي الذي يولّد علامات مثل القيء والمغص و/أو الإسهال. وقد تتجلى أيضاً، بفعل هذه الحساسية، بعض العلامات الجلدية مثل الأكزيما أو الشرى (4). وقد يصاب الجهاز التنفسي أيضاً فتتجلى الإصابة من خلال الربو. وأخيراً وليس آخراً، قد يسبب الحساسية المفرطة التي يمكن أن تكون قاتلة (4).

هذه الحساسية هي نوع من الاستجابة المناعية بوساطةIgE ، أي أنه قابل للتحديد في اختبارات الدم مثل اختبار IgE المحدد للقمح في الدم (2). ويمكن أيضاً تشخيصه عن طريق إجراء اختبار وخز الجلد على يد الطبيب المتخصص. ويتجلى ذلك عند تناول القمح، والذي يسبب اعتلال المعدة والأمعاء الحمضي: وهو مرض نادر يصيب الجهاز الهضمي ويتسم بآلام مغص في البطن وغثيان وقيء وإسهال ونزيف معدي معوي ونقص في الوزن (2). وقد يظهر أيضاً عند الاستنشاق أو ملامسة الجلد كما هي الحال في القمح الذي يحتوي على مستحضرات التجميل.

هل سبق أن سمعتم عن “ربو الخبازين”؟ أنه موجود، صحيح؛ فالتعرض المهني لطحين القمح قد يسبب الربو مع التهاب الأنف لدى بعض العاملين في المخابز ومطاحن الطحين (5).

ماذا عن أشد الانعكاسات المترتبة على حساسية القمح؟ الحساسية المفرطة التي يسببها الغذاء (FDEIA) هي شكل غير معتاد من أشكال الحساسية المفرطة الناتجة عن التمرين والتي تحدث حصراً عندما يمارس المريض الرياضة خلال 2 إلى 4 ساعات من تناول طعام معين. لا يمكن أن يؤدي تناول الطعام وحده ولا التمرين وحده إلى تحفيز تفاعل الحساسية. القمح هو أكثر الأطعمة المتورطة في FDEIA ويحدث رد الفعل في غضون ساعات قليلة بعد تناول الطعام. يجب أن يتأخر هؤلاء الأشخاص عن ممارسة التمارين لفترة 6 ساعات أو أكثر.

وتخضع معالجة هذه الحالة لإرشادات معينة. والمعالجة الأساسية هي تجنب القمح. ويستخدم أيضاً حاقن الإبينفرين الذاتي للمرضى الذين يظهرون سجلاً من ردود الفعل في منظومة جسمهم.

أمّا بالنسبة إلى الحساسية المفرطة الناتجة عن ممارسة الرياضة WDEIA فيمكن استخدام نوع من الحبوب يسمى طحين قمح الأسلاف والذي لا يحتوي على 5-جليادين (1).
وفي الخلاصة، وعلى الرغم من أن حساسية القمح موجودة لدى أكثر من 1٪ من المجتمع، إلا أنّه يجب ألا يتم الاستخفاف بها. يجب أن تكون الأمهات على دراية بجميع علامات الحساسية أو الأعراض التي تمت مناقشتها أعلاه عندما يتناول أطفالهنّ القمح أو أي نوع من أنواع القمح وأن يبلغن طبيب الأطفال الخاص بهم لمتابعة هذه المشكلة وإصدار التعليمات وفقاً لذلك. ومع ذلك، فإن العديد من الصناعات تستغل هذا النوع من الحساسية من أجل تسويق منتجاتها على أنّها المنتجات الفضلى. في الواقع، يجب ألا يتم تجنب الغلوتين أو القمح إلا من قبل الأشخاص الذين تم تشخيصهم بهذا النوع من الحساسية.

هذا المقال ليس من تأليف أبتاميل، بل من تأليف الدكتور محمد زبيب صاحب المحتوى.

المراجع:
1. Pastorello EA, Farioli L, et. al. Wheat-dependent exercise-induced anaphylaxis caused by a lipid transfer protein and not by ω-5 gliadin. Ann Allergy Asthma Immunol. 2014; 112(4):386-387.
2. Mäkelä MJ, Eriksson C, et. al. Wheat allergy in children – new tools for diagnostics. Clin Exp Allergy. 2014; 44(11):1420-30.
3. Sandra P, Claudia C, et. al. α-Purothionin, a new wheat allergen associated with severe allergy. Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology. 2013; 132(4): 1000-1003.
4. Helm R.M, Burks A.W, et al. Food allergens. Clin Allergy Immunol. 2008; 21: 219-235
5. Gómez L, Martín E, et al. Members of the alpha-amylase inhibitors family from wheat endosperm are major allergens associated with baker’s asthma. FEBS Lett.1990; 261(1):85-88.

انضمي إلى Aptaclub

احصلي على تحديثات أسبوعية متعلقة بنمو طفلكِ وحملكِ، بالإضافة إلى نصائح الخبيرات والطرود البريدية وأكثر

تابعي نمو طفلكِ

قارني بين وزن طفلكِ ووزن الأطفال في نفس العمر

هل تبحثين عن نصائح؟

فريقنا من الخبيرات مستعد للإجابة على جميع استفساراتك ومساعدتك في رحلتك من الحمل حتى الأمومة. لمزيد من المعلومات والنصائح يرجى التواصل معنا من 9 صباحاً حتى 6 مساءً من السبت للخميس.

Wheat Allergy In Children

Dr Mohamad Zbib: General Pediatrician, Pediatric Allergy & Pulmonology, Raee Hospital-Lebanon


Gluten has become a popular topic and is being exploited by the food industry. Wheat is the most commonly consumed food. Three wheat related disorders have been described: wheat allergy (WA), celiac disease (CD), and non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NSGS) (4). To understand these allergies more, we need to understand what specific nutrient or ingredient causes them. Wheat proteins (Triticum Oestivum) are classified into two groups according to water solubility (3). 

As compared to other food allergies, wheat allergies are present in less that 0.5% of the populations. It is not common as allergies on milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts, and sea food. However, it is more common than other cereal grains like barley, rye, oat, rice (4). 

How does wheat allergy in children manifest? It affects the Gastrointestinal tract that causes signs like vomiting, colic, and/or diarrhoea. Besides, this allergy might show some skin signs like eczema or urticaria (4). In addition to that, it might affect the respiratory system manifesting is asthma. Last but not least, it might cause anaphylaxis which could be fatal(4).

This allergy is an IgE mediated immune response type. This means that it can be identified in blood tests like serum wheat specific IgE test (2). It might also be diagnosed by doing a skin prick test by the specialized doctor. This is manifested when wheat is ingested, which causes Eosinophilic Gastroenteropathies: a rare disease of the gastrointestinal tract characterized by crampy abdominal pain, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, gastrointestinal bleeding, and weight loss (2). It also might manifest when inhaled or by skin contact like in wheat containing cosmetics.

Have you ever heard of “bakers’ asthma”? Occupational exposure to wheat flour may cause asthma with rhinitis in certain workers in bakeries and flour mills (5). 

How about the most severe implications of a wheat allergy in children? Food-dependent-exercise-induced-anaphylaxis (FDEIA) is an unusual form of exercise induced anaphylaxis that occurs only when the patient exercises within 2 to 4 hours of ingesting a specific food. Neither the food intake alone nor the exercise alone can trigger the anaphylactic reaction. Wheat is the most implicated food in FDEIA. Reaction occurs within few hours after eating the food. These persons should exercise delayed 6 hours or more.

Its management follows certain guidelines. Basic management is avoidance of wheat. Epinephrine autoinjector for patients who have history of systemic reaction is also used.
For WDEIA (Wheat-dependent-exercise-induced-anaphylaxis) a species of grain called ancestral wheat flour that does not contain 5-gliadin can be used instead (1).

In conclusion, though wheat allergy is present in than 1% of the society, it should not be taken lightly. Mothers should be aware of all the signs or symptoms of allergy discussed above when their child ingests wheat or any form of wheat and report to their pediatrician in order to follow-up on this issue and be instructed accordingly. However, many industries are using this form of allergy to market their products are better products. In fact, gluten or wheat avoidance should only be practiced by people who have been diagnosed with this form of allergy.

Aptamil is not the author of this article, as it has been written by Dr Mohamad Zbib who is the owner of the content

References:

  1. Pastorello EA, Farioli L, et. al. Wheat-dependent exercise-induced anaphylaxis caused by a lipid transfer protein and not by ω-5 gliadin. Ann Allergy Asthma Immunol. 2014; 112(4):386-387.
  2. Mäkelä MJ, Eriksson C, et. al. Wheat allergy in children – new tools for diagnostics. Clin Exp Allergy. 2014; 44(11):1420-30.
  3. Sandra P, Claudia C, et. al. α-Purothionin, a new wheat allergen associated with severe allergy. Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology. 2013; 132(4): 1000-1003.
  4. Helm R.M, Burks A.W, et al. Food allergens. Clin Allergy Immunol.2008; 21: 219-235
  5. Gómez L, Martín E, et al. Members of the alpha-amylase inhibitors family from wheat endosperm are major allergens associated with baker’s asthma. FEBS Lett.1990; 261(1):85-88.

Join Aptaclub

Get week-by-week updates on your baby’s development and your pregnancy. Recieve expert advice, postal packs for your stage and much more

Monitor your child’s growth

Compare your child’s weight with other children their age

Need advice?

Our team of experts is ready to answer your questions and support you on your journey from pregnancy to toddler hood. For more information and relevant advice, please contact us between 9am-6pm from Saturday to Thursday.