الشهر 6

يستعد طفلكِ لاستكشاف مجموعة من المذاقات والنكهات. وبعد مرحلة الطعام السائل، أصبح الآن جاهزاً لتناول أول قضمة من الطعام الصلب. تعرّفي على ما هو متوقع من طفلكِ في عمر 6 شهور.


يعد الوصول إلى عمر الستة أشهر مرحلة نمو رئيسية فى السنة الأولى من عمر الطفل، ليس فقط لأنه وصل إلى نصف عامه الأول ولكن كونه العمر الذي توصي به منظمة الصحة العالمية لإدخال الطعام الصلب والعمر الذي يبدأ فيه بعض الأطفال الحبو من الضروري تهيئة المنزل لتوفير الحماية لطفلكِ الفضولي الذي تزداد قدرته على التحرك أو التنقل في عمر ال6 اشهر!

في حال لم يبدأ طفلكِ بالحبو ، تذكري بأن كل الأطفال مختلفون ويمرون بالتطورات الأساسية وفقاً لطبيعتهم الخاصة. وإذا لم يتحقق ذلك الآن، فسوف يتحقق قريباً. إذا كان لديك أية استفسارات عن تطورات طفلكِ، استشيري طبيبكِ.

لنلقِ نظرة على التطورات الأساسية للطفل في عمر ال6 أشهر مقسمة الى التطور الجسدي ، الحركى والعقلى ، الحسى والتطور الاجتماعي والعاطفي.

التطور الجسدي

في عمر الستة أشهر يجب أن يكون وزن الطفل ضعف وزنه عند الولادة، على الرغم من أنه سوف ينمو ببطئ في النصف الثاني من العام الأول، مشكلاً منحنىً على مخطط النمو الخاص به. من المتوقّع أن يكتسب الطفل حوالي 450 – 560 غرام في الوزن ويزداد طوله حوالي 1- 2 سنتيمتر في الشهر السادس.

تظهر الأسنان الأولى لبعض الأطفال بعمر ال6 أشهر ، لذا قد ترغبين بشراء بعض ألعاب التسنين لكي يمضغها الطفل مثل حلقة التسنين المطاطية الآمنة. التي تُساعد على تخفيف الضغط وآلام اللثة. تأكدي من اختيار عضاضات أسنان آمنة غير مضرة يمكن تعقيمها للقضاء على أية جراثيم.كما تحتاجين أيضاً لتنظيف أسنان الطفل مرتين في اليوم. توصي هيئة الخدمات الصحية الوطنية بالمملكة المتحدة (إن إتش إس) باستخدام مسحة صغيرة جداً من معجون الأسنان المدعّم بالفلورايد على فرشاة أسنان الطفل.

ومع ازدياد قوته الجسدية المستمرة فى التطور، يصبح بإمكانه الجلوس لفترات أطول بدون مساعده. وقد تلاحظين طفلكِ يستخدم ذراعيه كوسيلة للدعم.

وتعني زيادة القوة البدنية أيضاً أن معظم الأطفال قادرين على التدحرج في كلا الاتجاهين، بينما يندفع بعضهم إلى الأمام مستخدمين أرجلهم يحبون. احرصي على وضع الكثير من الأشياء الآمنة حول الطفل ليلمسها، ويضعها في فمه ويلعب بها، لمساعدته على التطور، ولكن من المهم مراقبته عن قرب وهو يمارس هذه المهارات الجديدة.

التطور الحركي

في الشهر السادس، تكون المهارات الحركية الدقيقة للطفل قد تطورت ويصبح قادراً على التقاط الأشياء وتركها، ونقلها من يد إلى أخرى، وسوف يستوعب أن عليه استخدام يديه لإلتقاط شيئاً ما، وقد يحاول الإمساك بجسم أثناء سقوطه – ولكن لا تتوقعي منه أن يكون قادراً على الإمساك به في هذه المرحلة.

في حال قررت تجربة إدخال الطعام الصلب بمساعدة الطفل ، حيث يقوم الطفل بإطعام نفسه قطع طعام يمكن تناولها باليد ، لا تتوقعي منه أن يكون قادراً على استخدام أصابعه للإمساك بالأشياء في الشهر السادس من العمر، فهو يستخدم قبضته في الإمساك بدلاً من ذلك. في عمر الستة أشهر، يقترح مخطط طعام الطفل البدء بتقديم أطعمة لينة مثل الحبوب الأطفال المعززة بالحديد (أرز الأطفال) والخضار المطهي على البخار مثل الجزر، الفاصوليا الخضراء، البطاطا الحلوة، البطاطا والكوسا. الفاكهة الليّنة مثل الموز والإجاص والتفاح المطهي على البخار هي أيضاً من الخيارات الجيدة للطفل في عمر ال6 اشهر. احرصي على مراقبة تأثير أي طعام جديد على طفلكِ ، وانتبهي لاحتمالات حدوث التحسس. إذا كان لديكِ إستفسارات عن الحساسية ضد بعض الأطعمة، استشيرى طبيبك قبل تقديم أي من هذه الأطعمة.

التطور العقلي

في الشهر السادس يصبح اللعب من النشاطات المهمة للطفل، وتستمر مهارات الذاكرة بالتحسّن. يصبح بإمكانه الآن ربط الأفعال بردود الأفعال، والاستمتاع بالألعاب التي تُصدر ضجيجاً والتي يمكن رجها أو ضربها. كما يتعلم الطفل أيضاً أن لأفعاله ردود فعل من قِبلك، ولذلك يبذل مجهوداً أكبر للفت انتباهك.

يزداد اهتمام طفلكِ أيضاً بالكتب، وتعتبر الكتب القابلة للغسل مثالية في هذا العمر حيث يضع الطفل كل شيء في فمه! كما يحب طفلك الإستماع إليكِ وأنت تقرئين أو تغنين – وقد يثرثر معكِ. توفر الكتب عن الحيوانات الفرصة لإسعاد الطفل عبر تقليد أصوات الحيوانات بصورة مضحكة، مما قد يشجع طفلك على تقليدها!

التطور الحسي

يصبح طفلكِ أكثر إدراكاً بالعالم حوله من خلال حواسه، ومعظم الأطفال في هذا العمر سوف يلتفتون نحو الأصوات والضجيج. ويقلّدون الأصوات التي يسمعونها مع كلام وثرثرة غير مفهومة.

إضافة إلى ذلك، فإن إدخال الطعام الصلب يعتبر فرصةً مثاليةً لتقديم أطعمة مختلفة المذاق والقوام وتوصي هيئة الخدمات الصحية الوطنية بالمملكة المتحدة (إن إتش إس) بالسماح لطفلكِ بلمس وتذوّق الطعام للحصول على تجربة ممتعه مع وجبته يستخدم فيها عدة حواس.

التطور الاجتماعي والعاطفي

يكبر طفلك ويصبح أكثر تعبيراً. وفي عمر الستة أشهر يُظهر الطفل مشاعره بطرق مختلفة، بما في ذلك الشكوى أو البكاء عند شعوره بالضيق، والضحك أو المناغاة أو الصراخ للتعبير عن الفرح عندما يشعر بالسعادة أو الحماس.

اكتشفي هنا البدء في تقديم الطعام الصلب >>

وللأسف ، يعتبر قلق الانفصال أيضاً من المشاعر الأخرى التي قد يضطر الطفل للتعرض لها فى عمر الستة أشهر. ويمكن أن يكون ذلك صعباً بصفة خاصة على الأمهات العاملات الذين يتركون أطفالهم فى أماكن رعاية الأطفال أثناء تواجدهم في العمل، حيث يمكن للطفل الذي لم يمانع في السابق من البقاء مع أي شخص، أن يشعر فجأةً بالضيق الشديد عند انفصاله عنك. تجنبي التسلل خلسة عندما لا يكون منتبهاً، واحرصي دائماً على توديعه ليتعلّم طفلك الوثوق في أنك ستعودين.

انضمي إلى Aptaclub

احصلي على تحديثات أسبوعية متعلقة بنمو طفلكِ وحملكِ، بالإضافة إلى نصائح الخبيرات والطرود البريدية وأكثر

تابعي نمو طفلكِ

قارني بين وزن طفلكِ ووزن الأطفال في نفس العمر

هل تبحثين عن نصائح؟

فريقنا من الخبيرات مستعد للإجابة على جميع استفساراتك ومساعدتك في رحلتك من الحمل حتى الأمومة. لمزيد من المعلومات والنصائح يرجى التواصل معنا من 9 صباحاً حتى 6 مساءً من السبت للخميس.

دردشة فورية

Month 6

Your baby is ready to explore a world of taste and flavors. From a liquid diet, they are now ready to take their first nibble of solid food. Find out what else you and your 6-month-old baby can look forward to this month.


Reaching the six-month mark is a key milestone in baby’s first year. Not only is it their ‘half a year birthday’, but it’s also the WHO recommended weaning age and the age at which some babies will start to crawl. It’s essential that your home has been baby-proofed to protect your inquisitive and increasingly mobile 6 month old baby!

If your baby isn’t crawling just yet, remember that all babies are unique and meet milestones at their own pace. Developmental guidelines simply show what your baby has the potential to accomplish – if not right now, then soon. If you do have any questions about your baby’s development, ask your doctor.

Let’s look at the possible 6 month baby development milestones, split across the key areas of physical, motor, mental, sensory and social & emotional.

PHYSICAL DEVELOPMENT

A six month old baby should have doubled their birth weight, although growth will slow slightly in the second half of their first year, creating a curve on their personal growth chart. You can expect the average baby to gain around 450-560g and grow about 1-2cm during month six.

Some babies will have cut their first teeth by six months old, so you might want to buy some baby teething toys for baby to chew on – like a safe, firm, rubber teething ring. These can help ease the pressure and pain in their gums. Make sure you choose safe, non-toxic teething toys that can be sterilized to kill any lurking germs. You’ll also need to clean baby’s teeth twice a day. The UK National Health Service (NHS) recommends using a tiny smear of fluoride toothpaste on a baby toothbrush.

As your baby’s core strength continues to develop, they should be able to sit unaided for longer periods. You might see your baby using his arms for support.

This increased physical strength also means that most babies will be able to roll in both directions, while some will even be lunging forward using their legs and crawling. Making sure that baby has lots of safe things around him to touch, mouth and manipulate will help with his development, but it’s important to keep a close eye on your baby while he’s practising all these brand new skills.

MOTOR DEVELOPMENT

By six months, a baby’s fine motor skills should have developed to the point that they can pick up and let go of an object, and move it from hand to hand. He’ll understand that he needs to use his hands to pick something up, and might even grab for an object as it drops – although don’t expect him to be able to catch it just yet!

If you’ve decided to try baby-led weaning – where your baby feeds himself with finger foods – don’t expect him to have a good pincer grip at six months old. He’ll use his fist to grab and hold instead. A 6 month baby food chart will suggest soft starter foods such as iron fortified baby cereals (baby rice) and steamed vegetables like carrots, green beans, sweet potatoes, potatoes and zucchini. Batons of soft fruits like banana, pear and steamed apple are also good choices for 6 month baby food. Do keep a close eye on your baby’s reactions to any new foods, and be vigilant against potential allergies. If you have any concerns about specific allergies, consult your doctor before feeding these foods to your baby.

MENTAL DEVELOPMENT

Playing becomes a serious business for baby during month six, as their memory skills continue to improve. They should now be able to link actions with reactions, enjoying noisy toys that they can shake or bang. Your baby is also learning that his actions can get a reaction from you, so you might find his efforts to get your attention increasing.

Books should also hold increasing interest for your baby, and soft washable books are ideal at this stage when everything will go straight to baby’s mouth! Your baby will also love to listen to you read or sing – and might even babble along with you. Books about animals can offer the opportunity to delight your baby by making funny animal noises that they might try to copy!

SENSORY DEVELOPMENT

Your baby is becoming increasingly aware of the world through their senses, and most six month old babies will turn towards sounds and voices. They’ll also imitate the sounds that they hear, with some babies able to combine syllables or ‘jabber’.

Moreover, weaning offers the perfect opportunity to introduce your baby to different tastes and textures, and the UK National Health Service guidelines recommend letting your baby enjoy touching, holding and tasting their food for a multi-sensory feeding experience.

SOCIAL & EMOTIONAL DEVELOPMENT

As your baby gets older, he’s becoming more expressive. By six months old a baby will be displaying his emotions in a variety of ways, including complaining or crying when unhappy, and giggling, cooing or squealing with joy when happy or excited.

Learn about how to start weaning >>

Unfortunately, separation anxiety is another emotion that a six month old baby may have to deal with. This can be especially difficult for those using childcare while they work, as a baby that was previously happy to be left with anyone can suddenly become very distressed when separated from you. Don’t be tempted to sneak away when he is distracted. Always say goodbye and your baby will learn to trust that you’re going to come back.

Join Aptaclub

Get week-by-week updates on your baby’s development and your pregnancy. Recieve expert advice, postal packs for your stage and much more

Monitor your child’s growth

Compare your child’s weight with other children their age

Need advice?

Our team of experts is ready to answer your questions and support you on your journey from pregnancy to toddler hood. For more information and relevant advice, please contact us between 9am-6pm from Saturday to Thursday.

Live Chat