كيف تتجنبون القلق عند الأطفال

إعداد دينا هلسة، مديرة التدريب في Mind Matters.

عندما يواجه الطفل موقفاً غير مفهوم بالنسبة له، ينتظر المساعدة من والديه ليشرحا له ما يحدث. فإذا شعر بأنهما قلقين أو مضطربين، تنتقل هذه الحالة إلى الطفل ويشعر عندها بأن الوضع غير آمن.

قد لا يدرك الأهل أن حالة القلق التي يشعرون بها غالباً ما تنتقل إلى أطفالهم. وعندما تمرون بأوقات صعبة وتشعرون بأن أطفالكم يلاحظون عليكم بعض علامات القلق غالباً ما تشعرون بالذنب، ولكن لا داعي لذلك بل حاولوا ألا تنقلوا هذا القلق إلى أطفالكم ولكي تتجنبون القلق عند الأطفال اتبعوا النصائح التالية:
علاج القلق عند الأطفال:

المهم هنا هو أن تتعاملوا مع القلق بطريقة تساعد أطفالكم في التعامل مع ما يقلقهم أيضاً.

يتعلم الأطفال من كل ما يرونه ولذلك يجب أن تكونوا قدوة لهم في الصبر والتحمّل.

إن كنتم تتبعون طريقة معينة لتهدئة أنفسكم حاولوا أن تدربوا أطفالكم عليها. ولأن الأطفال يدركون كل ما يجري حولهم، يجب عليكم مراقبة كلماتكم وتعابير وجهكم وانفعالاتكم أمامهم.

في الكثير من الأحيان يكذب الأهل على أطفالهم ولا يخبرونهم بحقيقة ما يمرون به، أو يقدّمون لهم أعذاراً وإجابات غير دقيقة. ينبغي أن تتجنبوا ذلك وتجيبوا بصدق وأمانة على أسئلتهم دون أن تخبروهم بجميع التفاصيل. وإذا لم تكن لديكم إجابات على أسئلتهم أخبروهم بأنكم لا تعرفون الجواب وأنكم ستحاولون معرفته بدلاً من أن تقدموا لهم إجابات عشوائية.

لا بأس إنْ عرف أطفالكم بأنكم تشعرون بالقلق.

احذروا من الإفراط في التعبير عن قلقكم أمامهم إذ لا يجوز أن يشارككم أطفالكم كل الأوقات الصعبة التي تمرون بها. ويكمن التصرف الصحيح في أن تتعاملوا مع الضغوطات بحكمة وروية أمام أطفالكم. وعندما تواجهون موقفاً صعباً اشرحوا لهم كيف ولماذا تصرفتم بهذه الطريقة، حيث يساهم ذلك في أن يتقبّل الأطفال حالة القلق ويدركون أن بإمكانهم السيطرة عليها والتكيف معها. كما يجب أن تشجعوهم على الإفصاح عن مخاوفهم وأفكارهم وكل ما يقلقهم لتمنعوا القلق عند الأطفال.

حاولوا إدراك الأمور التي تسبب لكم القلق لتتمكنوا من تجنبها.

عندما تدركون أسباب القلق يمكنكم أن تجدوا حلاً لها أو طريقة للتعامل معها على الأقل. ويمكنكم تحقيق ذلك من خلال التفكير بشكل إيجابي كأن تخاطبوا أنفسكم بما يلي: “يمكنني مواجهة هذه التحديات ولا بد لهذه الفترة الصعبة أن تمضي وستكون الأمور على ما يرام”. لا تقسوا على أنفسكم وثقوا بأنكم تبذلون كل ما بوسعكم للتخلص من القلق.

لا تبالغوا في تقدير حجم المشكلة.

تعتبر طريقة الصناديق من الأساليب التي يمكنكم اتباعها للحد من المشكلة وفهم الأسباب التي أدت إليها. ضعوا أمام أطفالكم ثلاثة صناديق من الحجم الصغير والمتوسط والكبير ثم اشرحوا لهم أن بعض المشاكل تكون بسيطة ويمكنهم حلها بمفردهم، وهذه يمكن أن نضعها في الصندوق الصغير، فيما تكون بعض المشاكل صعبة قليلاً فنضعها في الصندوق المتوسط ويمكنهم تجاوزها بمناقشة الحلول معكم، وأخيراً تأتي المشاكل الكبيرة وهي التي ستساعدونهم على حلّها.

اعرفوا متى ينبغي أن تتركوا أطفالكم يتعاملون مع مشاكلهم لوحدهم.

عليكم أن تتجنبوا الحالات التي تسبب لكم توتراً لا داعي له إذ أننا غالباً ما نمر بالكثير من الضغوطات التي يمكننا تجنبها. فإذا كنتم تتابعون أخباراً تسبب الهلع أو القلق بشأن أمور معينة، حاولوا التوقف عن ذلك قبل أن تشعروا بالقلق. وإذا شعرتم بأنكم غارقون في القلق أمام أطفالكم ما عليكم سوى أن تأخذوا قسطاً من الراحة لتمنعوا القلق عند الأطفال

مارسوا الأنشطة التي تعزز الاعتماد على الذات.

إن لم يكن بإمكانكم الحد من أسباب القلق، حاولوا ممارسة نشاط يخفف منه. مثل الأنشطة البسيطة التالية: تناول فنجان من الشاي او الإستمتاع بحمام دافئ أو إستنشاق بعض الهواء النقي.. أما بالنسبة لي فإن التنفس البطيء هو النشاط المفضل عندي، حيث آخذ نفساً عميقاً وأحبسه لمدة 3 ثوانٍ ثم أخرجه ببطء. أثناء ذلك أركّز في بعض الأحيان على تمارين تساهم في تفريغ الضغط والقلق من خلال التركيز على الحواس الخمس بما فيها الشم والتذوق والسمع والنظر واللمس، مما يساعد ذهني على التركيز على ما أفعله بدلاً من التركيز على الضغوط التي أعاني منها.

نمرّ حالياً بأوقات صعبة تدفعنا إلى القلق الذي لا بد أن ينتقل إلى أطفالنا، إلا أن التعامل مع هذا الشعور في إطار الجو العائلي من شأنه أن يعزز أواصر العلاقات فيما بينكم وخاصة عندما تمارسون أنشطةً معينة مع أطفالكم ويعزز التنظيم العائلي. ولذلك أخبروهم بأنكم ستفعلون كل شيء لحمايتهم وأنكم ستبذلون كل ما بوسعكم حتى يبقوا بأمان وما عليهم سوى الاهتمام بشؤونهم اليومية والدراسة واللعب.

انضمي إلى Aptaclub

احصلي على تحديثات أسبوعية متعلقة بنمو طفلكِ وحملكِ، بالإضافة إلى نصائح الخبيرات والطرود البريدية وأكثر

تابعي نمو طفلكِ

قارني بين وزن طفلكِ ووزن الأطفال في نفس العمر

هل تبحثين عن نصائح؟

فريقنا من الخبيرات مستعد للإجابة على جميع استفساراتك ومساعدتك في رحلتك من الحمل حتى الأمومة. لمزيد من المعلومات والنصائح يرجى التواصل معنا من 9 صباحاً حتى 6 مساءً من السبت للخميس.

دردشة فورية

How to avoid passing your anxiety to your children

Developed by Dina Halaseh, Director of Training at Mind Matters.

When children find themselves in a situation that has ambiguous meanings to them, they look around and see how their parents will respond or interpret that situation. If parents are constantly anxious or worried, children echo that anxiety and decide that the situation is not safe.

It’s hard for parents to think they might be transmitting their own stress to their children but unfortunately, in many scenarios, this is exactly what happens. If you’re going through anxious times and you feel like your child is showing signs of anxiety because of it, there is no need to punish yourself or feel guilty. It’s more common than you think. Instead, focus on implementing the following strategies so you don’t pass your feelings on to them.

The main goal is to manage your anxiety, and help your kids manage theirs.

Children learn from what they see, so be a model of tolerance.

If you have a certain strategy to calm yourself down, try to practice it with your child. Since children pick up on everything, ensure you monitor your own words, facial expressions, and the emotions you’re communicating.

In many cases, parents tend to lie their way out of a situation, or give excuses or answers that are not very accurate. Try to avoid this and answer truthfully to their questions. There’s no need to share all the details. If you don’t know the answer to a question, tell them you don’t, but you will try to find it out – instead of just saying anything.

It’s ok to show your child that you are anxious.

Be careful not to overshare, however. Children are not supposed to see every anxious or worrying moment you experience. But it is healthy for them to see you cope with stress. Explain to them how and why you reacted in the way you did, when faced with a stressful situation.

This gives children the permission to feel stressed, and shows them that stress is a manageable emotion. Encourage them to share their fears, thoughts, and worries with you.

Try to understand your own stress triggers in order to negate them.

When you understand what’s causing your stress, you can either find a solution or at least control some of the triggers causing it. This could also include a more positive self-talk, an example would be “I can handle these challenges, or It’s ok, things will pass”. Be compassionate towards yourself and acknowledge you’re doing your best.

Sizing-up different problems.

One of the techniques which can be used to help size-up problems and understand the triggers, is using a small, medium, and big box. Sit with your child and discuss how some problems are small problems they can solve on their own and hence they go into the small box, some are medium problems that go into the medium box, these problems are the ones you can brainstorm together to find a solution and finally the big problems are the ones that you are there to help them resolve.

Know when to disengage.

If you know a situation will cause you unnecessary stress, stay away. We often put ourselves through a lot of unnecessary stress. If watching the news is causing you to panic, overthink, or worry about different issues, simply try to stop before you’re anxious. If you feel you’re getting overwhelmed with stress in front of your child, simply take a break.

Engage in self-relieving activities.

When you can’t stop the triggers causing your anxiety, try to engage in an activity that usually destresses you. This could be as simple as drinking a cup of tea, taking a shower, or enjoying some fresh air. I personally find deep breathing to be one of my favorite activities. I take a deep breath, hold it in for about 3 seconds, and exhale slowly. While doing so, I sometimes focus on the grounding techniques of focusing on all my senses – what I can smell, taste, hear, see, and touch. This helps my mind focus on the now instead of on my stress.

We are going through stressful times, and this stress will be picked up by our children. However, managing stress within your family will strengthen the bond between you, especially by doing more activities together. Remind them that you are there to protect them, that you are responsible for their safety and that you will always do everything in your power to make sure they stay safe. Remind them that their only responsibility is to stick to their routine, study, and play.

Join Aptaclub

Get week-by-week updates on your baby’s development and your pregnancy. Recieve expert advice, postal packs for your stage and much more

Monitor your child’s growth

Compare your child’s weight with other children their age

Need advice?

Our team of experts is ready to answer your questions and support you on your journey from pregnancy to toddler hood. For more information and relevant advice, please contact us between 9am-6pm from Saturday to Thursday.

Live Chat