الأثار السلبية للمدح الزائد على ذكاء أبنائك!

يعد الإطراء من الأدوات المهمة التي تمكّن الآباء والأمهات من دعم وتحفيز وتوجيه أطفالهم، ولكن المدح الزائد في غير مكانه يمكن أن يثني من رغبتهم بالتعلم. نعتقد عادةً أننا نعزز ثقة الطفل بنفسه عندما نمدح قدراته أو ذكاءه أو مواهبه ولكننا في الحقيقة نركز على خصائص معينة لا يمكن للطفل تغييرها، مما يؤدي بالطفل إلى الخوف من الفشل والهروب من مواجهة التحديات أي أننا نعزز لديه الأفكار السلبية التي تمنعه من مواكبة التغيرات. فالأطفال الذين يركزون على النتيجة النهائية فقط تترسخ لديهم فكرة أن مواهبهم وقدراتهم هي ميزات فطرية جاءت معهم منذ الولادة ولا يمكن تغييرها.

ومن أجل تعزيز العقلية المتطورة، نحتاج إلى التركيز على النشاط بحد ذاته والجهد الذي يبذله الطفل لإنجاز أمر معين. وعندما نثني على مجهودات الطفل سيسعى إلى بذل المزيد حتى يصبح ذلك عادة لديه، مما يجعل منه شخصاً مثابراً حتى عندما يواجه التحديات الصعبة في المستقبل.

والأمر ليس سهلاً كما يبدو عليه، فنحن بحاجة إلى فهم الآثار السلبية للإطراء وإدراك أن المدح الزائد لا نفع منه. إن القاعدة الأولى لتعزيز العقلية المتطورة عند الأطفال تقتضي أن نمدح جهود الطفل لا نتائجه. وتؤكد كارول دويك أن المديح يجب أن يوجّه للجهد الذي يقود إلى النتيجة بمعنى الجهد المفيد. ولكننا غالباً ما نسمع الناس يمدحون أطفالهم وينسون الجهد الذي يبذلونه وهو الأهم.

غالباً ما نسمع عبارات مثل: “لا بأس فقد حاولت جهدك”، “عمل رائع” وما إلى ذلك على الرغم من أن الطفل لم يبذل ما يكفي من الجهد لإنجاز المهمة، مما يعيق اكتساب الطفل للعقلية المتطورة وسيفهم الأمور بالطريقة التالية: “لقد بذلت قصارى جهدي ولا حاجة للمحاولة مرة أخرى”!

لا يجوز الإطراء على أي جهد يبذله الطفل فليست كل الجهود تساهم في نموه وتعزيز قدراته.

عندما يبذل الطفل جهداً غير مفيد لإنجاز أمر ما، يجب توجيهه إلى بذل جهد مفيد وفعال بحيث يساهم في نموه وتعزيز قدراته.

من المهم جداً أن نوضح للأطفال أن الجهود ليست متساوية في القيمة وأن الجهد المفيد هو الذي يؤدي إلى تعلّم أشياء جديدة، إذ ينبغي أن نمدح هذا النوع من الجهود فقط.

انضمي إلى Aptaclub

احصلي على تحديثات أسبوعية متعلقة بنمو طفلكِ وحملكِ، بالإضافة إلى نصائح الخبيرات والطرود البريدية وأكثر

تابعي نمو طفلكِ

قارني بين وزن طفلكِ ووزن الأطفال في نفس العمر

هل تبحثين عن نصائح؟

فريقنا من الخبيرات مستعد للإجابة على جميع استفساراتك ومساعدتك في رحلتك من الحمل حتى الأمومة. لمزيد من المعلومات والنصائح يرجى التواصل معنا من 9 صباحاً حتى 6 مساءً من السبت للخميس.

دردشة فورية

Why you should not praise intelligence!

Praise is one of the most important tools a parent can use to help motivate and guide their children. But in many cases, the wrong praise can also discourage and derail their learning. We usually think that if we praise a child for his abilities, intelligence, or talents we are raising their confidence. The reality of the situation is, we are focusing on attributes that a child can’t change and as a result, our children are afraid to fail and often run away from challenges. We are contributing towards a fixed, negative mindset. Children who focus on the end result believe their intelligence and talents are innate and that their skills are fixed and cannot really change.

In order to build a growth mindset, we need to focus on the process itself, and the effort children put into anything. When we praise effort, children are likely to develop effort as a lifelong habit, leading to persistence even when faced with hard challenges in the future.

It’s not as easy as it seems, and we need to understand the negative effects of praise and that empty praise helps nobody. When it comes to building a growth mindset in your children, the first rule is to praise effort and not results. Carol Dweck emphasises how praise should be towards effort that leads to an outcome. In other words, Effective effort. In many instances I see people praise children while forgetting about the effective/outcome part.

We tend to hear sentences like “well you tried your best”, “great effort” etc. even though the child didn’t put the proper strategy and effort into the task. By doing so, we are actually encouraging a fixed mindset. The child understands that ‘I did my best, and there is no need for me to try any further!’.

Since not all effort actually results in growth or improvement in a child, not all effort should be praised.

When a child is putting ineffective effort into something, that child must be guided towards putting the kind of effort that will allow for growth, progress and improvement.

It’s very important to make it clear for children that not all effort is equal, and that only effort that leads to learning new things is important, and that’s what you should praise.

Join Aptaclub

Get week-by-week updates on your baby’s development and your pregnancy. Recieve expert advice, postal packs for your stage and much more

Monitor your child’s growth

Compare your child’s weight with other children their age

Need advice?

Our team of experts is ready to answer your questions and support you on your journey from pregnancy to toddler hood. For more information and relevant advice, please contact us between 9am-6pm from Saturday to Thursday.

Live Chat