كيف تتعاملي مع غيرة طفلك من اخوته

الغيرة بين الأخوة أمر طبيعي ولا يمكن تجنّبه، لكن محاولة التوفيق بينهم قد تسبب لكِ الإرهاق والإعياء. فيما يلي بعض النصائح لتشجيعهم على إقامة علاقة سعيدة.


الغيرة بين الأخوات شائعة جداً وتشكّل جزءاً طبيعياً من مرحلة الطفولة. معظم الأخوة أو الأخوات يتخلصون من الغيرة من الأخ أو الأخت ويصبحون أصدقاء مقربين، لكن ذلك لا يخفف إطلاقاً من العبء على الأم والأب في فترة حدوث الغيرة.

وعلى الرغم من أنه من غير المحتمل أن تتمكّني من وضع حد للغيرة بين الأخوات، فإن هناك طرق تُساعدكٍ في تلطيف الخلافات وتشجيع الأجواء المنزلية السعيدة والمتناغمة (في أغلب الأوقات!). فيما يلي 5 نصائح عن كيفية مساعدة الأخوات على التعايش معاً:

1. التحضير لمقدم الطفل الجديد

احرصي على تخصيص الكثير من الوقت النوعي للطفل الأكبر سناً عند ولادة الطفل الجديد.

يمكن أن تبدأ الغيرة بين الأخوات في مرحلة مبكّرة جداً، حيث يشعر الأخ الكبير بالغيرة من الطفل المولود حديثاً. وهذا أمر طبيعي جداً – فقد اعتاد الطفل الكبير أن يكون في مركز اهتمامك، أو “طفل” العائلة، والآن عليه مشاركة اهتمامك مع أخت أو أخ كثير الطلبات! عوّدي طفلكِ تدريجياً على تقبّل فكرة الطفل الجديد، حاولي إشراكه قدر الإمكان، واحرصي على تخصيص الكثير من الوقت النوعي للطفل الأكبر عند قدوم الطفل الجديد.

2. خذي عمر طفلكِ بعين الاعتبار

يواجه الأطفال صعوبةً في إدراك مفهوم المشاركة، لذا حدّدي توقعاتكِ بما يتلاءم مع عمر طفلكِ.

من المهم أخذ أعمار الأطفال بعين الاعتبار، عند وضع حدود لضبط طريقة تعاملهم مع بعضهم. على سبيل المثال، إذا طلبتِ من الطفل أن يشارك العابه مع الطفل الجديد، فعلى الأرجح أن يتسبب ذلك في حدوث مشاكل، وارتباك وحتى الاستياء. أما في حالة الطفل الأكبر، في عمر ما قبل المدرسة، فإن تعلّم المشاركة مع الأخوات قد يكون درساً رائعاً من واقع الحياة وللتحضير للمدرسة، ويمكن أن يشجّع الأخوات على اللعب معاً.

3. احرصي على عدم التدخّل

يعتبر تعلّم الأطفال لحل الخلافات التي تقع بينهم من المهارات الهامة للطفل.

حيثما أمكن، اتركي الفرصة لأطفالكِ لحل مشاكلهم بأنفسهم – وهي مهارة حياتية رائعة بالنسبة لهم! كما أن ذلك يجنبّكِ مسألة تفضيلكِ لشخص على الآخر، فعلى سبيل المثال، إذا كنت تميلين لحماية الطفل الأصغر، وإخبار الطفل الأكبر بأن عليه أن يراعي الفارق في العمر، فمن الطبيعي أنكِ ستكونين مجبرةً على التدخّل إذا تطوّر الخلاف وتحوّل إلى عراك، واحرصي أيضاً على عدم التركيز على من يقع اللوم.

4. امدحي ولا تعاقبي

يعتبر التعزيز الإيجابي أكثر فعالية من العقوبة.

من الصعب معرفة كيفية حل الخلافات بين الأخوات بشكل إيجابي، لكنّ للمديح أثره الكبير بالنسبة للأطفال، ولذلك احرصي على بذل جهد إضافي لملاحظتهم عندما يلعبون معاً بلطف، ويتشاركون، ويتعاطفون أو حتى يتسامحون مع بعضهم البعض بمنتهى الهدوء! يمكن أن تتسبب العقوبة بالاستياء ما يؤدي إلى تعقيد أية مشكلة. إذا كان عليك التدخل للفصل بين الأطفال، قومي بذلك بهدوء وبأقل قدر من لفت الأنظار.

5. التعليم من خلال القدوة

وضحي لطفلكِ كيف يتشارك مع الآخرين ويلعب معهم بلطف.

يتعلّم الأطفال بالقدوة، لذلك أظهري لهم كيف تُشاركي أشياءك معهم ومع الآخرين. اعرضي عليهم مشاركة الشوكولاتة المفضّلة لديكِ أو حمام الفقاعات؛ بإمكانك على سبيل المثال، لعب بعض ألعاب تناوب الأدوار البسيطة مع طفلكِ، ومن ثم التحوّل إلى ألعاب التي تُلعب على ألواح الورق المقوى مع الأطفال الأكبر سناًـ لتعويدهم على فكرة تناوب الأدوار، والمشاركة، والالتزام بالقواعد واللعب بلطف مع أفراد الأسرة.

انضمي إلى Aptaclub

احصلي على تحديثات أسبوعية متعلقة بنمو طفلكِ وحملكِ، بالإضافة إلى نصائح الخبيرات والطرود البريدية وأكثر

تابعي نمو طفلكِ

قارني بين وزن طفلكِ ووزن الأطفال في نفس العمر

هل تبحثين عن نصائح؟

فريقنا من الخبيرات مستعد للإجابة على جميع استفساراتك ومساعدتك في رحلتك من الحمل حتى الأمومة. لمزيد من المعلومات والنصائح يرجى التواصل معنا من 9 صباحاً حتى 6 مساءً من السبت للخميس.

دردشة فورية

Live Chat
 

How To Help Your Child Deal With Sibling Rivalry

Sibling rivalry is normal, even inevitable, but it can leave you feeling exhausted and worn out trying to keep the peace. Here are a few tips to encourage a happy relationship between siblings.


Sibling rivalry is very common and a normal part of childhood. Most siblings will grow out of their sister or brother jealousy and become the best of friends, but this doesn’t make it any less testing for mum and dad in the meantime!

While you’re unlikely to be able to put a stop to sibling rivalry completely, there are ways that you can help smooth over disagreements and encourage a happy, harmonious house (most of the time!). Here are 5 tips on how to help siblings get along:

1. PREPARE FOR A NEW BABY

Ensure you set aside plenty of quality time for the older child when the new baby arrives.
Sibling rivalry can start very early, with an older sibling feeling jealous of a new baby. This is perfectly normal – the older child is used to being at the centre of your world or the ‘baby’ of the family, and now they have to share your attention with a very demanding younger sister or brother! Get your child used to the idea of a new baby gradually, try to involve them as much as possible and ensure you set aside plenty of quality time for the older child when the baby has arrived.

2. CONSIDER YOUR CHILD’S AGE

Toddlers find it difficult to grasp the concept of sharing, so set your expectations in line with your child’s age.
It’s important to consider the age of your children, when setting the boundaries of how they interact with each other. For example, expecting a toddler to share his toys with a new baby sibling is likely to cause upset, confusion and even resentment. For an older pre-schooler however, learning to share with siblings can be a great life lesson and preparation for school, and could even encourage the siblings to play together.

3. TRY NOT TO GET INVOLVED

Learning to resolve their own squabbles is an important skill for children.
Where possible, try to let your children resolve their own petty squabbles – this is a great life skill for them to have! It also avoids the issue of any perceived favouritism, for example, if you tend to protect the younger child and tell the older child that they should ‘know better’. Of course, you’ll need to intervene if the squabble escalates and becomes physical, but try not to focus on who is to blame.

4. PRAISE, DON’T PUNISH

Positive reinforcement can be more effective than punishment.
It’s difficult to know how to stop siblings from fighting in a positive way, but praise goes a long way with children, so make an extra effort to notice any examples of them playing nicely together, sharing, being kind or even just tolerating each other in a calm way! Punishment can cause resentment, which could escalate any issues further. If you do need to step in to separate your children, do so calmly and with minimal fuss.

5. TEACH BY EXAMPLE

Show your child how to share and play nicely.
Children learn by example, so make a big show of sharing your own things with them and others. Offer to share your favourite chocolates or bubble bath, for example. You can also play simple turn-taking games with a toddler, progressing to board games with older children. All of this will get them used to the idea of taking turns, sharing, following rules and playing nicely with family members.

Monitor your child’s growth

Compare your child’s weight with other children their age

Need advice?

Our team of experts is ready to answer your questions and support you on your journey from pregnancy to toddler hood. For more information and relevant advice, please contact us between 9am-6pm from Saturday to Thursday.