الحساسية عند الأطفال

ما زال جهاز الهضم لدى طفلك في طور التطور – ما زال حساساً وهشاً جداً، لذا لا يمكنه التأقلم مع أي شيء غير الحليب قبل بلوغ 4-6 أشهر. مع نمو طفلك، تتغير شهيته وروتين رضاعته من أسبوع إلى آخر. قد تجدين أنه لا يزال جائعاً بعد الرضعة، أو ربما تشعرين بالقلق لأنه لا يأكل كما يجب أو تخشين أن يُصاب بالحساسية أو عدم التحمل.

يتطرق هذا الفصل إلى مشاكل الإرضاع الأكثر شيوعاً مثل الإمساك والترجيع (حيث لا يستطيع طفلك أن يُبقي طعامه داخل معدته). كما يناقش أيضاً أنواع الطعام التي قد تسبب الحساسية، عندما يصبح واجباً تقديم الأطعمة الصلبة له، ويقدم لك النصح حول طرق التقليص التدريجي للرضعات الليلية عندما يرضع طفلك جيداً أثناء النهار.

حساسية الحليب عند الرضع

تظهر أعراض الحساسية من بروتين حليب البقر (CMPA) عادة أثناء الأشهر القليلة الأولى من عمر الطفل. تحدث أعراض الحساسية من بروتين حليب البقر على الأرجح في فترة من أسبوع إلى شهر بعد إدخال الحليب المجفف أو حليب البقر، وهي نادرة لدى الأطفال الذين لا يرضعون إلا طبيعياً. في هذه الأمثلة النادرة، يمكن أن تنتقل بروتينات الحليب من غذائك من خلال حليبك إلى طفلك. مع ذلك، عليك استبعاد منتجات اللبن من غذائك بناءً فقط على نصيحة أخصائي الرعاية الطبية لأنها مصدر هام للمواد المغذية، مثل الكالسيوم.

إذا كان طفلك يتحسس من حليب البقر فمن المرجح أنه سيصاب بردة فعل لحليب الغنم والجاموس وغيرها من الحيوانات. إذا لم تكوني تعتقدين أن طفلك يرضع كما يجب، فمن الأفضل دوماً طلب الاستشارة من خبير الصحة أو الطبيب. مع ذلك، تساعدك هذه الفقرة على فهم المزيد حول الحساسية من الحليب، ومعرفة كيفية تحديد الارتكاسات المحتملة.

الحساسية من الحليب وعدم تقبله

يمكن أن يكون لدى الأطفال إما حساسية للحليب أو لا يتقبلونه. الحساسية أكثر خطورة من عدم التحمل لكن بعض الأعراض متشابهة، ما يجعل من الصعب تشخيصهما.

تشمل الحساسية من الحليب ارتكاساً مناعياً لواحد أو أكثر من البروتينات الموجودة في الحليب، في حين أن عدم التقبل لا يشمل جهاز المناعة. يحدث عدم التقبل بسبب عدم القدرة على التعامل مع مواد معينة في الحليب، مثل سكر اللبن. أحد الأمثلة التي تحدث غالباً هي عدم تقبل سكر اللبن، حيث لا ينتج بعض الأشخاص ما يكفي من إنزيم اللاكتاز الذي يفكك سكر اللبن. يسبب سكر اللبن غير المهضوم أعراضاً مزعجة مثل الإسهال والنفخة والغازات.

كيف تتعرفين إلى الحساسية من الحليب

إذا كان طفلك يتحسس من الحليب، فإنه سوف يصاب بردة فعل من حليب البقر، والحليب المجفف القائم على حليب البقر وأحياناً، لكن نادراً حليبك إذا كنت قد أكلت مؤخراً أو شربت منتجات اللبن. أعراض الحساسية من الحليب يمكن أن تشمل التشنجات المعدية والإقياء والإسهال والطفح الجلي والبثور والإكزيما وصعوبة التنفس.

من الشائع عند الأطفال الذين يتحسسون من حليب البقر أن يتحسسوا من حليب الغنم وحليب الحيوانات الأخرى أيضاً، لأنها تحتوي بروتينات مماثلة. لسوء الحظ ليس هناك فحص تشخيصي واحد للحساسية من بروتين حليب البقر، وفي الغالب تلزم مجموعة من الاختبارات وسلسلة من الأنظمة الغذائية التي تعتمد الاستبعاد وإعادة الإدخال. من المهم أن تطلبي النصح من طبيبتك إذا كنت تشكين أن طفلك يعاني من حساسية بحيث يمكن تشخيصه ومعالجته بالشكل المناسب.

الرضاعة والحساسية من الحليب

تتطلب معالجة الحساسية من بروتين حليب البقر استبعاد حليب البقر من نظام طفلك الغذائي، لذا ستحتاجين للاعتياد على قراءة الملصقات، والمكونات الخاصة بالأغذية لأن الحليب قد يظهر في أماكن غير محتملة. يتم وضع قوانين الملصقات على الأغذية لتساعدك. يجب الإعلان عن المواد المسببة للحساسية الشائعة، مثل الحليب، على الأغذية مسبقة التغليف.

إذا كان طفلك يرضع حليباً مجففاً، وتم تشخيص وجود حساسية من بروتين حليب البقر لديه، فقد يصف الطبيب حليباً مجففاً مهدرج بشكل شامل. تحطم البروتين في هذا الحليب المجفف إلى أجزاء أصغر بحيث لا يتعرف عليها جهاز المناعة لدى الطفل كمادة مثيرة للحساسية – عملية لا تؤثر في القيمة الغذائية للحليب المجفف. لقد صممنا حليب بيبتي من أبتاجونيور باستخدام مصل اللبن بشكل كامل لإيجاد صيغة حليب مجفف خاصة مناسبة للأطفال المصابين بالحساسية من بروتين الحليب. إنها أسهل هضماً وتؤمن الرعاية الغذائية التي يحتاجها طفلك بدون إزعاج حساسيته. بيبتي من أبتاجونيور متوفر فقط بناءً على وصفة. لا ننصح باعطاء طفلك حليب الصويا قبل ستة أشهر لأنها تحتوي على الفايتوستروجين، والأطفال الرضع الذين يستجيبون للحليب المجفف القائم على حليب البقر يستجيبون غالباً للحليب الصناعي القائم على فول الصويا.

إذا تم تشخيص إصابة طفلك بالحساسية من بروتين حليب البقر وكنت ترضعينه طبيعياً، يمكن في حالات نادرة أن يستجيب لبروتينات الحليب التي تنتقل من غذائك إلى حليبك. إذا كان هذا هو الحال فقد يتعين عليك تغيير نظامك الغذائي – ولكن هذا يجب أن يتم بعد إستشارة أخصائي الرعاية الطبية.

هل الحساسية من الحليب شائعة؟

فقط حوالى٢-٧% من الأطفال دون عمر السنة يعانون من حساسية من حليب البقر. يتخلص معظم الأطفال في سن الثالثة من الحساسية تجاه حليب البقر، لكن بالنسبة إلى البعض منهم قد تدوم حتى سن ٦-٨ سنوات. في بعض الأحيان يمكن أن تستمر حتى سن البلوغ – خاصة إذا كان هناك تاريخ حساسية في العائلة.

كيف تتعرفين إلى عدم تقبل سكر اللبن

يعتبر عدم تقبل سكر اللبن أقل خطراً من الحساسية. كما في حالة الحساسية من الحليب، فإن أعراض عدم تقبل سكر اللبن يمكن أن تشمل الإسهال والإقياء والتشنجات المعدية لكن عادة ليس البثور أو صعوبة التنفس. فارق آخر هو أن عدم تقبل سكر اللبن لا يظهر في فحص الدم أو فحص وخز الجلد. ومع هذا، تبقى استجابة طفلك لافتة للنظر، إن لم تكن شديدة مثل الحساسية.

يدعى النمط الأكثر شيوعاً لعدم تقبل سكر اللبن لدى الأطفال “عدم تقبل سكر اللبن الثانوي”. يحدث هذا بسبب حالة أخرى، مثل التهاب الأمعاء أو الالتهاب بسبب الحساسية من بروتين حليب البقر، يقلل من إنتاج سكر اللبن بإيذاء الأحشاء. إن هذا مؤقت فقط إلى أن تُشفى الأحشاء. قد يلزم استبعاد سكر اللبن من النظام الغذائي في الحالات الشديدة لكن ليس بصورة دائمة. إذا كان هذا هو الحال، فعليك إذاً أن تطلبي النصح من طبيبك.

في حال كنت تعتقدين أن طفلك يعاني من حساسية من الحليب أو عدم تقبلل له، تحدثي إلى خبير الصحة أو الطبيب. أو إذا كانت لديك أي أسئلة أخرى حول الإرضاع أو الحساسية، فإن خبراء خط أبتا أدفايس للأم والطفل موجودون على الرقم 6262 6458 800 (الإمارات) أو على الرقم 0097144209489 (للدول الأخرى)، من السبت إلى الخميس، من ٩ صباحاً إلى ٦ مساءً.

Baby Allergies

Your baby’s digestive system is still developing - it’s very sensitive and delicate, which is why they can’t cope with anything other than milk until around 4-6 months. As they grow, their appetite and feeding routines can seem to change from one week to the next.You might find that they’re still hungry after a feed, or perhaps you’re worried they’re not eating as much as they should or you’re concerned they have an allergy or intolerance.

This section looks at the most common feeding problems such as constipation and reflux (where your baby can’t keep their food down). It also looks at the sorts of foods that can cause allergies, when your baby should be introduced to solids, and it gives advice on ways to gradually reduce night feeds once your baby is feeding well during the day.

Lactose Intolerance Symptoms in Babies

Symptoms of cows’ milk protein allergy (CMPA) usually appear during the first few months of life. CMPA is more likely to occur between a week to a month after formula or cows’ milk is introduced and is rare in exclusively breastfed babies. In these rare instances, the milk proteins from your diet may pass through your breastmilk to your baby. However, you should only remove dairy products from your diet on the advice of a healthcare professional as they are an important source of key nutrients, like calcium.

If your baby is allergic to cows’ milk then it is likely that they will also react to goat, sheep, buffalo and other animal milks. If you don’t think your baby is feeding as they should, it’s always best to seek advice from your doctor. However, this article will help you to understand more about milk allergies and learn how to identify possible reactions to milk.

Babies can either be allergic or intolerant to milk. An allergy is more serious than an intolerance but some of the symptoms are similar, making them difficult to diagnose. A milk allergy involves an immune reaction to one or more of the proteins present in milk, whereas an intolerance does not involve the immune system. An intolerance is caused by an inability to deal with certain substances in milk, such as lactose. One example which is often talked about is lactose intolerance, where some individuals don’t produce any or enough of the enzyme lactase which breaks down lactose. Undigested lactose causes uncomfortable symptoms like diarrhoea, bloating and wind.

How to identify a milk allergy

If your baby is allergic to milk, they will react to cows’ milk, formula based on cows’ milk and sometimes, but very rarely, your breastmilk, if you’ve recently eaten or drunk dairy products. The symptoms of a milk allergy can include stomach cramps, vomiting, diarrhoea, rashes, hives, eczema, and difficulty breathing.

It’s common for babies who are allergic to cows’ milk to be allergic to goats’ milk and other animal milk too, as they contain similar proteins. Unfortunately there is no single diagnostic test for cows’ milk protein allergy and a combination of tests and a series of elimination and reintroduction diets are often necessary. It’s important that you seek advice from your doctor if you suspect that your baby has an allergy so that they can be properly diagnosed and treated.

Feeding and milk allergies

Managing a cows’ milk protein allergy involves removing all cow’s milk from your baby’s diet, so you’ll need to get familiar with reading food labels and ingredients as milk can occur in unlikely places. Food labelling laws are there to help you and common allergens, like milk, have to be declared on pre-packaged foods.

If your baby is being formula fed, and has been diagnosed with cows milk protein allergy, your doctor may prescribe an extensively hydrolysed formula. The protein in these formulas has been broken down into smaller pieces so that the baby’s immune system does not recognise it as an allergen – a process which does not affect the nutritional value of the formula.

If your baby is diagnosed with cows’ milk protein allergy and you’re breastfeeding, in rare cases your baby may be reacting to the milk proteins passing from your diet into your breastmilk. If this is the case you may have to change your diet – but this should only ever be done after consulting with your healthcare professional.

Are milk allergies common?

Only around 2–7.5% of babies under 1 year old are allergic to cows’ milk. By the age of three most children will have grown out of cows’ milk allergies , but for a few it may last until they’re 6-8 years old. Occasionally, it can continue into adulthood – especially if there is a family history of allergies.

How to identify a lactose intolerance

A lactose intolerance is less threatening than an allergy. As with a milk allergy, symptoms of a lactose intolerance can include diarrhoea, vomiting, and stomach cramps but not usually hives or breathing difficulties. Another difference is that a lactose intolerance won’t show up in a blood or skin-prick test. Still, your baby’s reaction will be noticeable, if not as severe as that of an allergy.

The most common type of lactose intolerance in babies is called ‘secondary lactose intolerance’. This occurs because another condition, such as gastroenteritis or the inflammation caused by cows’ milk protein allergy, reduces the production of lactose by injuring the gut. This is only temporary until the gut recovers. Lactose may need to be taken out of the diet in severe cases but not permanently. If this is the case then you should always seek advice from your healthcare professional.

If you suspect your baby has either a milk allergy or intolerance, speak to your doctor. Or if you have any other questions about feeding or allergies, our Careline team is available on 800 6458 6262 (UAE)/ +971 4 420 9489 (Other countries) between the hours of 9am and 6pm Saturday to Thursday.