الحساسية عند الأطفال

ما زال جهاز الهضم لدى طفلك في طور التطور – ما زال حساساً وهشاً جداً، لذا لا يمكنه التأقلم مع أي شيء غير الحليب قبل بلوغ 4-6 أشهر. مع نمو طفلك، تتغير شهيته وروتين رضاعته من أسبوع إلى آخر. قد تجدين أنه لا يزال جائعاً بعد الرضعة، أو ربما تشعرين بالقلق لأنه لا يأكل كما يجب أو تخشين أن يُصاب بالحساسية أو عدم التحمل.

يتطرق هذا الفصل إلى مشاكل الإرضاع الأكثر شيوعاً مثل الإمساك والترجيع (حيث لا يستطيع طفلك أن يُبقي طعامه داخل معدته). كما يناقش أيضاً أنواع الطعام التي قد تسبب الحساسية، عندما يصبح واجباً تقديم الأطعمة الصلبة له، ويقدم لك النصح حول طرق التقليص التدريجي للرضعات الليلية عندما يرضع طفلك جيداً أثناء النهار.

الحساسية من الطعام عند الأطفال

إذا كنت تظنين أن طفلك يعاني من حساسية، فكيف تستطيعين معرفة ذلك؟ وكيف يمكنك تحديد ما الذي يسبب له هذه الحساسية؟ قد يكون أيضاً من المربك معرفة أنواع الطعام التي تسبب الحساسية والتي يجب بالتالي تجنبها، خاصة أن النصائح غالباً ما تتغير مع الزمن، ما يجعل من الصعب مجاراة ما هو أفضل لطفلك.

تطلعك هذه الفقرة على بعض العلامات التي قد تدل على الحساسية، وما هي الأغذية المسؤولة عنها في العادة. كما ستجدين فيها لائحة من الأغذية التي ننصحك باستبعادها من نظام طفلك الغذائي من أجل تقليص خطر الارتكاس قبل سن الستة أشهر، عندما يكون جهازه المناعي أكثر عُرضة للارتكاس.

الحساسية من الطعام

عندما تبدأين بتقديم الأطعمة الصلبة لطفلك، ستلاحظين دون شك ما هي الأطعمة التي يحبها وتلك التي لا يحبها. مع ذلك، من المهم دوماً البحث عن أي علامة للحساسية أو عدم التحمل. من المستحسن تقديم الأغذية المشكوك فيها بالتدريج بحيث يمكنك مراقبة استجابة طفلك لها.

عندما تبدأين عملية الفطام، يُفضل البدء بأغذية من المستبعد أن تسبب الحساسية، مثل الأرز والتفاح والإجاص. ثم يمكنك محاولة تقديم أغذية أكثر إثارة للحساسية في عمر ستة أشهر، مثالياً إلى جانب الفطور. الحساسيات أكثر شيوعاً لدى الأطفال من البالغين، إلا أنها مع ذلك تصيب فقط 7-8% من الأطفال خلال الطفولة المبكرة، وتختفي العديد من الحساسيات، مثل حساسية حليب البقر، مع تقدم الطفل في العمر.

التعرف إلى حساسية الطفل

تختلف الحساسية عن عدم التحمل، في حين تشتمل الحساسية على رد فعل زائد لجهاز المناعة، فإن عدم التحمل لسكر اللبن (اللاكتوز) على سبيل المثال، يحدث عندما يكون الجسم غير قادر فيزيائياً على هضم سكر اللبن. الأعراض الأكثر شيوعاً للحساسية من الأغذية هي:

  • انتفاخ العينين والشفتين
  • الإسهال، والإقياء، وأحياناً الإمساك
  • الصفير، الأنف، احمرار العينين، والعطاس
  • الحكة، الطفح الجلدي، والأكزيما

قد يكون الصفير الحاد وصعوبة التنفس علامتا ردة الفعل التحسسية الشديدة ما يتطلب مساعدة طبية فورية، لكن لحسن الحظ هذا النوع من ردة الفعل الحساسية الخطيرة نادر الحدوث.

 

أغذية تسبب الحساسية

تكون بعض الأغذية أكثر قابلية للتسبب باستجابة تحسسية أكثر من غيرها.

  • الأغذية التي أساسها القمح والأغذية الأخرى التي تحتوي الغلوتين
  • الحليب
  • البيض
  • السمك والمحار
  • الفول السوداني
  • المكسرات
  • البذور

الحساسية من الأغذية

إذا كنت قلقة حيال إمكانية أن يصاب طفلك بحساسية غذائية، يكون من الجيد تقديم الأغذية المدرجة أعلاه كل على حدة، والبدء بكمية صغيرة فقط – مع أنه لا يجوز تقديم أي من هذه الأغذية بأية كمية قبل سن الستة أشهر.

الحساسية من الفول السوداني

إذا تم بالفعل تشخيص إصابة طفلك بالحساسية، مثل الحساسية الغذائية والإكزيما، أو إذا كان هناك تاريخ حساسية في العائلة (إذا كان لدى الأبوين أو الأخوة أو الأخوات حساسية مثل الحساسية الغذائية، أو الربو، أو الإكزيما، أو حمى القش، أو أنواع أخرى من الحساسية) فإن طفلك معرض بشكل أكبر للإصابة بحساسية الفول السوداني. تحدثي إلى الطبيب، أو خبير الصحة، أو أخصائي الحساسية قبل إعطاء طفلك الفول السوداني أو أغذية تحتوي على الفول السوداني لأول مرة.

إذا لم يتم تشخيص إصابة طفلك بالحساسية، ولم يكن هناك تاريخ حساسية في عائلته المقربة، يمكنك حينها اختيار إعطائه الفول السوداني أو أغذية تحتوي على الفول السوداني بعد بلوغه سن الستة أشهر. لكن تذكري أن تطحني الفول السوداني – يجب ألا تعطي الطفل حبات الفول السوداني أو المكسرات الكاملة دون سن الخامسة كي لا يواجه خطر الاختناق.

كوني حذرة خاصة عندما تقدمين لطفلك الفول السوداني أول مرة، وابحثي عن أي رد فعل تحسسي. إذا كنت تعتقدين أن طفلك يعاني من رد فعل تحسسي، اطلبي استشارة طبية عاجلة.

إذا أظهر طفلك رد فعل تحسسي

إذا تشكل لدى طفلك رد فعل لأي غذاء أعطيته له، خذيه إلى الطبيب ليتمكن من تشخيص المشكلة، وتقديم الإرشادات حول كيفية التعامل مع الحساسية أو عدم التحمل. إذا تم تشخيص إصابة طفلك بالحساسية أو عدم التحمل، قد يستغرق وقتاً حتى يعتاد على الأطعمة التي يستطيع تناولها والتي لا يستطيع تناولها. حتى ذلك الحين، اقرأي لصاقة التعريف دوماً – وُجدت القوانين الخاصة بوضع لصاقات التعريف لتساعدك على التعرف إلى الأغذية التي تحتوي مواد قد تسبب الحساسية

 

دور حليب الأم في منع الحساسية

يتفق الخبراء على أن المواد المغذية الموجودة في حليب الأم تساعد على حماية الرضع من الإصابة بأنواع الحساسية، عبر تدعيم جهازهم المناعي طبيعياً – بالمواد المغذية مثل السكريات قليلة الوحدات الداعمة حيوياً، والنوكليوتيدات، وغيرها من المكونات الفعالة. لذا، فإن الإرضاع الطبيعي أو إرضاع الحليب المُستخرج من ثدي الأم في زجاجة على مدى الأشهر الستة الأولى على الأقل من حياة طفلك قد يساعد على حمايته من الإصابة بالحساسية.

في حال كنت قلقة حول صحة طفلك، استشيري طبيبك أو خبير الصحة. وإذا كانت لديك أي أسئلة، يمكنك دوماً الاتصال بفريق عملنا على الرقم 6262 6458 800 (الإمارات) أو على الرقم 0097144209489 (للدول الأخرى). من السبت إلى الخميس، من ٩ صباحاً إلى ٦ مساءً.

Baby Allergies

Your baby’s digestive system is still developing - it’s very sensitive and delicate, which is why they can’t cope with anything other than milk until around 4-6 months. As they grow, their appetite and feeding routines can seem to change from one week to the next.You might find that they’re still hungry after a feed, or perhaps you’re worried they’re not eating as much as they should or you’re concerned they have an allergy or intolerance.

This section looks at the most common feeding problems such as constipation and reflux (where your baby can’t keep their food down). It also looks at the sorts of foods that can cause allergies, when your baby should be introduced to solids, and it gives advice on ways to gradually reduce night feeds once your baby is feeding well during the day.

Food allergies in babies

If you suspect your baby has an allergy, how can you tell? And how can you pinpoint what it is they’re allergic to? Understanding which foods are likely to cause allergies and should therefore be avoided can also be confusing, especially as advice often changes over time, making it hard to keep up with what’s best for your baby.

In this article you can learn some of the signs that may suggest an allergy and read which foods are usually responsible. You’ll also find a list of the foods you’re advised to exclude from your baby’s diet in order to minimise the risk of a reaction before the age of 6 months, when their immune system is more prone to reaction.

As you introduce solids, you’ll no doubt notice which foods your baby likes and dislikes. However, it’s also important to look for any signs of allergy or intolerance. It’s advisable to introduce potentially problematic foods gradually so that you can monitor your baby’s reaction to them.

When you first start the weaning process, it’s best to begin with foods that are unlikely to be allergenic, such as rice, apple, pear, and quinoa. Then you can try introducing more allergenic foods around 6 months, ideally in conjunction with breastfeeding. Allergies are more common in babies than adults, but they still only affect 7-8% of children during early childhood and many allergies, such as a cows’ milk allergy, will disappear as the infant grows older.

Identifying a food allergy

An allergy is different to an intolerance; while an allergy involves an over-reaction of the immune system, an intolerance to lactose for example,occurs when the body is physically unable to digest lactose. The most common symptoms of a food allergy are:

  • Swelling of eyes and lips
  • Diarrhoea, vomiting and sometimes constipation
  • Wheezing, a runny nose, red eyes and sneezing
  • Itching, hives and eczema

Severe wheezing and difficulty in breathing can be signs of anaphylaxis, which requires immediate medical assistance, but fortunately this kind of serious allergic reaction is rare.

 

Foods that cause allergies

Some foods are more likely to cause an allergic reaction than others.

  • Wheat based foods and other foods containing gluten
  • Milk
  • Eggs
  • Fish and shellfish
  • Peanuts
  • Nuts
  • Seeds

Foods allergies

If you’re concerned that your baby might develop a food allergy, it’s a good idea to introduce the foods listed above one at a time, and to start with just a small amount – although none of these food should be introduced in any amount before the age of six months.

Peanut allergy

If your baby has already been diagnosed with an allergy, such as a food allergy or eczema, or if there is a history of allergy in their immediate family (if parents, brothers or sisters have an allergy such as a food allergy, asthma, eczema, hayfever, or other types of allergy) then your baby has a higher risk of developing peanut allergy. Talk to your GP, doctor or medical allergy specialist before you give peanuts, or foods containing peanuts, to your baby for the first time.

If your baby hasn’t been diagnosed with any allergies and there isn’t a history of allergy in their immediate family, you can choose to give them peanuts or foods containing peanuts after they are six months old. But remember to crush them up – you should never give whole peanuts or nuts to children under five as they pose a risk of choking.

Pay special attention when you give your baby peanuts for the first time, and look out for any allergic reaction. If you think your child is having an allergic reaction, seek urgent medical advice.

If your baby exhibits an allergic reaction

If your baby reacts to any food they’ve been given, take them to your doctor who will be able to diagnose the problem and advise you on how to manage the allergy or intolerance. If your baby is diagnosed with an allergy or intolerance it can take time to become familiar with the foods they can and can’t eat; until then, always read the label – food labelling laws are there to help you identify foods that contain potential allergens.

The role of breastmilk in the prevention of allergy

Experts agree that the nutrients found in breastmilk help to protect infants against developing allergies, by naturally supporting their immune system – nutrients such as prebiotic oligosaccharides, nucleotides and other functional components. So, breastfeeding or feeding expressed breastmilk from a bottle for at least the first 6 months of your baby’s life may help prevent them from developing allergies.

If you are at all concerned about your baby’s health, consult your doctor. Or if you have any questions, you can always call our Careline team on 800 6458 6262 (UAE)/ +971 4 420 9489 (Other countries) between the hours of 9am and 6pm Saturday to Thursday.