وزن الطفل

كم يبلغ “الوزن المثالي” لطفلي؟

تماماً مثل الراشدين، تختلف أشكال الأطفال وأحجامهم! ويعتبر متوسط وزن طفلك عند الولادة 3.3 كلغ ويولد معظم الأطفال بوزن يتراوح بين 2.5 كلغ و 4.5 كلغ.

يعود اختلاف وزن طفلك إلى العوامل الوراثية وإلى صحتك وتغذيتك أثناء الحمل. ولكن ليس المهم كم يبلغ وزن طفلك عند الولادة، بل المهم هو معدل الوزن الذي يكتسبه طفلك بعد ذلك.

فقدان الوزن بعد الولادة

يعتمد كل طفل ومنذ ولادته نمط نمو معيّن وأول شيء يفعله عادةً هو أن يفقد وزناً! ذلك لأنه يحتاج وقتاً ليعتاد على شرب الحليب. وإذا كنت تعتمدين الرضاعة الطبيعية، يحتاج جسمك أيضاً بعض الوقت لإنتاج الحليب. يفقد الكثير من الأطفال حتى 10% من وزنهم في الأيام الأولى بعد الولادة. وبعد حوالى 10 أيام، يجب أن يكتسبوا مجدداً ما فقدوه من وزن.

الأيام القليلة الأولى

في الأيام القليلة الأولى بعد الولادة، سيخرج طفلك البراز الأخضر وهو عبارة عن مادة صلبة لونها يميل إلى الأخضر الداكن. وهذا يدلّ أن جهاز طفلك يعمل جيداً.

اقياس نمو طفلك

يتم قياس نمو طفلك بالسنتيمتر، سواء كان حجمه صغيراً أو كبيراً، من المتوقع أن يكتسب وزناً بوتيرة ثابتة ليبقى ضمن المجموعة نفسها. سواء كان طفلك يحتل أعلى الجدول أو أسفله، هذا لا يعني أن وزنه قد زاد أو انخفض بشكل مقلق.

تأكدي أنك تزورين أنت وطفلك طبيب الأطفال بشكل دوري منتظم. يجب وبكل دقة مراقبة نمو طفلك الصحي ووحده الطبيب يستطيع الإجابة على كل سؤال يخطر في بالك.

كم يجب أن يزيد وزن طفلي؟

BABY-WEIGHT

في الأسابيع القليلة الأولى، سيزداد وزن طفلك بين 175 غرام و 225 غرام في الأسبوع الواحد. بعد حوالى ستة شهور، سيتضاعف وزنه على الأرجح مقارنة مع وزنه عند الولادة ثم ستبدأ وتيرة زيادة وزنه بالتراجع بشكل تدريجي.

يتم استعمال جداول النمو كمراجع فقط. لذا وبينما يجب أن يبقى وزن طفلك ضمن المجموعة الطبيعية، لا تقلقي إذا واجه أي خلل. فهذا قد يعود إلى فورة النمو المفاجئ، المرض، صعوبة التأقلم مع تناول الأطعمة الصلبة أو ببساطة استهلاك المزيد من الوحدات الحرارية حين يبدأ بالزحف. إذا كان لديك أي قلق بشأن نمو طفلك، استشيري الطبيب.

Baby weight

What’s the ‘right weight’ for a baby?

Just like adults, babies come in all shapes and sizes! The average birth weight is 3.3kg (7lb 5oz), and most newborns weigh between 2.5kg (5lb 8oz) and 4.5kg (9lb 14oz).

How much your baby weighs is determined by genetics and your health and nutrition through pregnancy. But it’s not how much your baby weighs at birth that’s most important – it’s the rate at which they gain weight afterwards.

Losing weight after birth

Every child follows a growth pattern from birth, and usually the first thing they do is lose weight! This is because it can take a while for them to get used to drinking milk. And if you’re breastfeeding, your body has also got to get used to producing milk too. Many babies lose up to 10% of their weight in the first few days after birth. By about 10 days old, they should have started to put it on again.

Measuring your baby’s growth

Your baby’s growth is measured on a centile chart. Whether big or small, they’re expected to put on weight at a steady pace, staying in the same range on the chart. Just because your baby may be at the top or bottom end of the chart doesn’t mean they are over or underweight.

Make sure you attend your doctor (paediatrician) regularly. Your baby’s growth and health will be carefully monitored and your doctor can answer any questions or concerns you may have.

How much weight should my baby gain?

BABY-WEIGHT

In the first few weeks your baby will probably gain about 175g to 225g (6oz to 8oz) a week. By about six months they will probably have doubled their birth weight and after this their weight gain will gradually slow down.

The centile charts used to measure growth are just guidelines. So while your baby’s weight should normally stay in their range, don’t be worried if they have the occasional blip. These may be caused by growth spurts, illness, difficulty adjusting to solids or simply burning up more calories as they start to crawl. If you have any concerns about your baby’s growth, speak to your doctor.