صحة طفلك في مرحلة ما قبل سنّ الذهاب إلى المدرسة

من الطبيعي أن يعاني الأطفال من بعض الأمراض، وأن يقلق الوالدين بسبب ذلك، لكن اطمئني معظم هذه الأمراض قابلة للعلاج. إليكِ بعض الأمثلة على ما يمكن أن يحدث، وأفضل طرق التعامل معه عند حدوثه.

الجيوب الأنفية

الجيوب الأنفية عبارة عن أربع مجموعات من الفتحات المليئة بالهواء الرطب تحت الوجنتين، خلف المجاري الأنفية، في الجبين وفي عمق الدماغ. وهي محدّدة بالأغشية المخاطية عينها التي تحدّد الأنف والفم. وحين تطوّر الجيوب الأنفية التهاباً يسبّب التورّم أو الإثارة، تعرف الحالة بالتهاب الجيوب الأنفية. وقد تلي هذه الالتهابات حالات البرد والزكام أو تؤدي إلى ظهور حالات حساسية. ويعتبر التهاب الجيوب الأنفية أمراً شائعاً يسهل علاجه.

الأسباب

حين يعاني أحدهم من الزكام والبرد أو من حساسية ما، يتمثل جزء ينتج جهازه المناعي فائضاً من المادة المخاطية التي تفرزها الأنسجة المخاطية، في المجاري الأنفية وفي نسيج الجيوب الأنفية. وأحياناً، يحدث انسداد في جهاز التصريف الخاص بالجيوب الأنفية، ما يجعل المادة المخاطية تتغلغل في الجيوب الأنفية. ولأن الجيوب الأنفية دافئة ورطبة، فهي تشكّل بيئة مثالية لتكاثر الأجسام العضوية أي البكتيريا والفيروسات والفطريات التي تنمو وتسبّب التهاب الجيوب الأنفية.

الأعراض

تختلف أعراض التهاب الجيوب الأنفية بحسب عمر الطفل. والأعراض الشائعة لكل الأطفال هي أعراض البرد والزكام وحمّى خفيفة. وغالباً ما يعاني الأطفال الأكبر سناً (أكبر من 6-7 سنوات) من السعال الجاف خلال النهار ولا يتحسّن وضعهم إلا بعد مرور سبعة أيام على تطوّر أعراض البرد والزكام. كما قد يعانون من ألم في الأسنان، والآذان، ومن تورّم في الوجه ووجع في الرأس وألم خلف العينين لأن الجيوب الأنفية تكون قد تطوّرت بالكامل. ويتعرض الأطفال الأصغر سناً بنسبة أقل للإصابة بهذه الأوجاع إذ إن جيوبهم الأنفية لا تزال غير مكتملة التكوين وبالتالي يعانون أكثر من أعراض البرد والزكام بما في ذلك جفاف أو سيلان في الأنف. إذا كان طفلك ذات الأربعة أعوام يعاني من حمّى لمدة 5-7 أيام بعد بداية أعراض الزكام، قد يكون ذلك دليلاً على التهاب الجيوب الأنفية أو على التهاب آخر، مثل الالتهاب الشعبي والالتهاب الرئوي أو التهاب الأذن.

متى يتوجب عليّ الاتصال بالطبيب؟

يجب الاتصال بالطبيب ما إن يشعر طفلك بأعراض الزكام والبرد لأكثر من 10 أيام بدون الشعور بأي تحسّن أو إذا كان يعاني من زكام وساءت حالته بعد 7 أيام من بدء الأعراض. إذا كان طفلك يعاني من الحساسية، عليك التحدث إلى الطبيب إذا لم تختفِ أعراض الحساسية عبر تناول الأدوية الاعتيادية المضادة الحساسية. كذلك تتوجب عليك استشارة الطبيب إذا ظهر لدى طفلك أي مؤشر لالتهاب الجيوب الأنفية مثل الشعور بالوجع، الانتفاخ في الخدّين، أو الشعور بأي ألم في الوجه وخلف العينين.

العلاج

إذا قرّر الطبيب أن التهاب الجيوب الأنفية ناجم عن بكتيريا، فقد يصف لطفلك تناول بعض المضادات الحيوية لعلاجه. أما حالات التهاب الجيوب الأنفية الناجمة عن فيروس فقد تختفي عادة بدون تناول أي دواء. كما قد ينصح بعض الأطباء بتناول مضادات الاحتقان ومضادات الحساسية للتخفيف من حدة الأعراض. وقد تبيّن عدم فعالية الأدوية الرائجة التي تباع بدون وصفة طبية، في تخفيف أعراض التهاب الجيوب الأنفية لدى الأطفال.

الوقاية

يساعد استخدام جهاز مرطب للهواء في المنزل على تخفيف خطر الإصابة بالتهاب الجيوب الأنفية وهذه هي الحالة بشكل عام هنا في هذه المنطقة من العالم حيث يتم استعمال مكيّف الهواء على مدار السنة بكاملها تقريباً ما يؤدي إلى جفاف الجوّ الداخلي. ووضع جهاز مرطب للهواء في غرف الجلوس وغرف النوم من شأنه أن يرطّب الهواء ويحول دون إثارة الجيوب الأنفية وجعلها عرضة للإصابة بالالتهاب. إذا قررت وضع جهاز ترطيب أو أكثر في منزلك، تأكدي من تنظيف الأجهزة جيداً بواسطة مطهّر وبشكل منتظم فهي تشكّل بيئة جيدة لنمو البكتيريا، وإذا تراكمت البكتيريا في جهاز الترطيب، فقد تنطلق في الهواء، وتؤدي إلى ظهور مشاكل في التنفّس واحتقان في الجيوب الأنفية، وبالتالي إلى التهاب الجيوب الأنفية وهذا بالضبط ما أردت تفاديه. وبالرغم من أن التهاب الجيوب الأنفية ليس معدياً، ولكن ترافقه حالة زكام عادة، لذا لا بدّ من غسل اليدين واعتماد نظافة صحية للتخفيف من خطر انتشار الجراثيم.

Preschool Health

Babies are prone to coming down with things, and parents are prone to worrying, but more often than not, the ailment is easily treatable. Here’s a run down of the sort of things to expect, and how best to deal with them.

Sinuses

The sinuses are four sets of hollow spaces filled with moist air that are located in the cheekbones, behind the nasal passages, in the forehead and deep in the brain. They are lined with the same mucous membranes that line the nose and mouth. When sinuses develop an infection that causes them to swell or become irritated, the condition is known as sinusitis. These infections can follow colds or result from a triggering of allergies. Sinusitis is a condition that is fairly common and is one that is easily treated.

Causes

When someone has a cold or allergies, part of their normal immune response involves the production of extra mucous from the mucous membranes, both in the nasal passages and in sinus tissue. Occasionally the drainage system for the sinuses can become blocked, trapping the mucous in the sinuses. Because the sinuses are warm and moist, they provide the perfect environment for organisms to thrive, meaning that bacteria, viruses, and fungi can grow there and cause sinusitis.

Symptoms

The symptoms of sinusitis can differ depending on the age of the child. Common to all children are cold symptoms and a slight fever. Older children (over 6-7 years of age) often have a daytime dry cough that doesn’t improve after the first 7 days of the cold symptoms developing. They may also experience dental pain, ear pain, tenderness in the face, headaches, and pain behind the eyes because their sinuses are fully developed. Younger children are less likely to experience these pains because their sinuses remain underdeveloped and they often just show symptoms of a cold, including a stuffy or runny nose. If your 4 year old child develops a fever 5-7 days after cold symptoms begin, it could signal that they are developing sinusitis or another infection; such as bronchitis, pneumonia, or an ear infection.

When should I call my doctor?

You should call your doctor if your child develops a cold that lasts for more than 10 days without any improvement or if they have a cold that seems to be getting worse after 7 days of symptoms. If your child suffers allergies, you should speak to your doctor if their symptoms of allergies don’t clear with their usual allergy medication. Also, call the doctor if your child shows any other signs of sinusitis, such as pain, stiffness in the cheeks, or any pains in the facial area and behind their eyes.

Treatment

If it is thought that the sinusitis is being caused by bacteria, your doctor may prescribe oral antibiotics to treat it. Cases of sinusitis caused by viruses usually resolve themselves without medical treatment.  Some doctors may also recommend decongestants and antihistamines to help reduce the symptoms. Over-the-counter cold preparations have not been found to be effective in reducing sinusitis symptoms in children.

Prevention

Using a humidifier in the home can help lower the risk of sinusitis and this is especially the case in this part of the world where air conditioning is used nearly all year round and tends to dry the internal atmosphere. Placing a humidifier in the living rooms and bedrooms can moisten the air and prevent it from irritating the sinuses, making them less susceptible to developing an infection. If you do decide to place one or more humidifiers in your home, make sure that you clean them regularly with detergent, as they are prone to mould growth. If mould does develop inside a humidifier it can result in spores being releases into the air. These spores can cause breathing problem and sinus congestion, leading to sinusitis – the very condition you are aiming to avoid. Although sinusitis itself is not a contagious disease, the cold that often precedes it is, so good hygiene – particularly regular and thorough hand washing – is important to mimimise the risk of germs spreading.