صحة طفلك في مرحلة ما قبل سنّ الذهاب إلى المدرسة

من الطبيعي أن يعاني الأطفال من بعض الأمراض، وأن يقلق الوالدين بسبب ذلك، لكن اطمئني معظم هذه الأمراض قابلة للعلاج. إليكِ بعض الأمثلة على ما يمكن أن يحدث، وأفضل طرق التعامل معه عند حدوثه.

الحمى القرمزية عند الاطفال

قبل العام 1920، كانت الحمى القرمزية تشكّل أحد أخطر الأمراض المميتة وكانت سبباً لوفاة الكثير من الأطفال. ولكن وفي العام 1924، تمّ تطوير لقاح خاص لهذا المرض مع التوصية بتناول المضادات الحيوية، التي يتم استخدامها اليوم لعلاج هذه الحالة، ما يجعل هذا المرض أقل خطورة. وكانت الحمى القرمزية في الأساس عبارة عن التهاب “بكتيريا” الحلق (التهاب ناجم عن البكتيريا العقدية نوع أ) يترافق مع طفح جلدي. ويعود اسم المرض إلى احمرار بشرة الشخص المصاب حين تطلق البكتيريا من الحلق سمومها في الدم. والحمى القرمزية مرض معدٍ، فإذا كان طفلك يعاني منها، ربما يكون قد التقطها من طفل آخر إما عبر تنشّق حبيبات الهواء بعد أن عطس ذاك الطفل في الهواء أو عبر مشاركة كوب للشرب أو أي أداة أخرى أو عبر ملامسة غرض كان يحمله الطفل المصاب بالحمى كدمية إلخ. قد تصيب الحمى القرمزية الأشخاص الكبار ولكن بنسبة أقل مقارنة مع الصغار، وذلك بسبب تطوّر الجهاز المناعي في أجسام الراشدين. وقد أظهرت البحوث أن متوسط عمر الأشخاص الذين يصابون بالحمى القرمزية هو 6 سنوات.

ما هي الأعراض؟

تبدأ الحمى القرمزية عند الاطفال عادة بتقرّح في الحلق، ألم في الرأس، وحمى تبلغ 101 درجة فهرنهايت (38،3 درجة مئوية) أو أكثر. وقد تشمل أعراض الحمى القرمزية الأخرى لدى الأطفال:

  • ظهور طبقة بيضاء أو صفراء على اللسان فيصبح بدوره أحمر اللون. وقد تكون هذه البثور كبيرة وتؤدي إلى حدوث ظاهرة تعرف باسم “لسان الفراولة”
  • احمرار وتورّم في اللوزتين وخلف العنق
  • احمرار الوجه مع شحوب اللون حول الفم
  • برد وارتجاف ووجع وتورم في الغدد وشعور بالنعاس
  • فقدان الشهية والغثيان والتقيؤ
  • طفح جلدي يبدأ عادة بظهور عدد كبير من البقع الحمراء الصغيرة تحت الإبطين وفي العنق والصدر والفخذين. وهي تظهر عادة في اليوم الثاني وتدوم بين يومين وخمسة أيام تقريباً، وتمتد بشكل تدريجي إلى باقي أجزاء الجسم. وتبدو هذه البثور كاشطة وقد تثير الحكاك. وهي تظهر على تموّجات الجسم، تحت الإبطين مثلاً، وداخل الكوعين، وبين الفخذين، كما قد يشكّل الطفح الجلدي خطوطاً حمراء. ومع تلاشي الطفح، قد تتقشر البشرة ولا سيما في اليدين والقدمين وبين الفخذين.

هل تعتبر الحمى القرمزية مرضاً خطيراً؟

تعتبر الحمى القرمزية خطيرة إذا تمّ إهمالها بلا تشخيص أو علاج بدون مضادات حيوية، كأي التهاب آخر ينجم عن البكتيريا العقدية التي تسبّب مضاعفات خطيرة. وهذه تشمل ظهور خرّاج على اللسان وحمى رثوية ما يؤثر على صمامات القلب (وكان يخشى من هذه الحالة في عصر ما قبل اكتشاف المضادات الحيوية بسبب هذه المضاعفات).

جعل الطفل المصاب بالحمى القرمزية يشعر بالراحة

قد يعاني الطفل المصاب بالحمى القرمزية من ارتفاع في درجة الحرارة لذا من المهم أن يتناول الكثير من السوائل لأنه سيكون عرضة للجفاف بنسبة كبيرة. وقد يصبح تناول الطعام مؤلماً بالنسبة له بسبب التهاب الحلق، لذا يجب أن تقدّمي له الأطعمة الناعمة والحساء فابتلاع هذه الأطعمة أسهل عليه من ابتلاع الأطعمة الصلبة القاسية.

متى يتوجب علي الاتصال بالطبيب؟

عليك الاتصال فوراً بالطبيب إذا كان طفلك يعاني من تقرّح في الحلق أو حمى أو تورّم في الغدد أو من غشاء أبيض على اللوزتين أو داخل الحلق أو من أي أعراض أخرى للحمى القرمزية أو لالتهاب الحلق. إذا تمّ تشخيص الحمى القرمزية لدى طفلك وبدأ بتناول المضادات الحيوية واستمر ارتفاع حرارته أو استمر ظهور الأعراض الأخرى حتى بعد مرور 48 ساعة على البدء بتناول المضادات الحيوية، عليك الاتصال بالطبيب.

تخفيف خطر انتشار الالتهاب

بعد مرور 24 ساعة على تشخيص الحمى القرمزية لدى طفلك والبدء بتناول المضادات الحيوية اللازمة، تصبح الحمى القرمزية غير معدية. وخلال هذه الفترة أي 24 ساعة، عليك اتخاذ إجراءات دقيقة مثل فصل أكواب الشرب والأواني والأغطية والمناشف والألعاب وغيرها من الأغراض التي يتشاركها أفراد العائلة. يجب غسل هذه الأغراض بالماء الساخن واستعمال المطهّرات، وعلى كل من يستخدمها أن يغسل يديه بشكل متكرر بعد ذلك. ويتوجب على كل من تظهر لديه الأعراض من أفراد العائلة مثل تقرّح الحلق (مع أو بدون طفح جلدي) أن يخضع لفحص التهاب البكتيريا العقدية.

Preschool Health

Babies are prone to coming down with things, and parents are prone to worrying, but more often than not, the ailment is easily treatable. Here’s a run down of the sort of things to expect, and how best to deal with them.

What is Scarlet Fever?

Before the 1920s, scarlet fever was one of the most serious and deadly illnesses and was responsible for the deaths of many children. A vaccine for the disease was developed in 1924 but administering this was negated following the advent of antibiotics, which are now used to treat the condition, making it far less dangerous than it used to be. Scarlet fever is basically a ‘strep’ throat infection (caused by type A streptococcal bacteria) that is accompanied by a rash. The disease gets its name from the reddening of the affected person’s skin when the bacteria in the throat release toxins into the blood. Scarlet fever is a communicable disease, meaning that it is infective. If your child has scarlet fever, they probably caught it from another child, by either breathing in infected droplets that have been coughed into the air, by sharing a drinking vessel or utensil, or by coming into contact with something that the infected child has handled, such as a toy. Scarlet fever can affect adults, but its incidence is less common than in children as the adult immune system is more developed. The statistics show that the median age for developing Scarlet fever is 6 years.

What are the Scarlet Fever Symptoms

Scarlet fever generally starts off with a sore throat, headache, and fever of 101 degrees Fahrenheit (38.3 degrees Centigrade) or higher. The other symptoms that a child with scarlet fever may exhibit include:

  • A white or yellowish coating tongue which may later turn red. These bumps may appear quite large, giving the condition the name ‘strawberry tongue’.
  • A coating on their tonsils and back of their throat may also be coated, or red and swollen tonsils.
  • A flushed face with a pale mouth area
  • Chills, shivers, aches, swollen glands, lethargy
  • Loss of appetite, nausea and vomiting.
  • A rash, which usually begins as a mass of tiny red spots in the armpits, neck, chest and groin area. These commonly appear on the second day and typically last about two to five days, spreading progressively to other parts of the body. The bumps feel like fine sandpaper and may itch. In the creases of the body, such as around the underarms, the inside of the elbows, and the groin, the rash can form red streaks, which are called ‘Pastia’s lines’ As the rash fades, skin peeling may occur, especially on the hands, feet and in the groin area.

Is scarlet fever serious?

Scarlet fever is serious if undiagnosed or left untreated with antibiotics, as any infection involving the streptococcus bacteria can have serious complications. These include abscesses on the tonsils and rheumatic fever, which can affect the valves of the heart (the condition was feared in the pre-antibiotic era because of these complications).

Making a child with scarlet fever comfortable

A child with scarlet fever will probably have a high temperature so it’s important that they have a good fluid intake, as they will be more prone to becoming dehydrated. Eating may well be painful for them because of their strep throat, so soft foods and soups will probably be easier to manage than more solid meals.

When should I call the doctor?

You should call for an immediate appointment with your doctor if your child has a sore throat, a rash, fever, swollen glands, a white coating on the tonsils or the back of the throat, or any of the other symptoms of scarlet fever or strep throat. If your child has already been diagnosed with scarlet fever and has commenced antibiotics, you should call the doctor if they still have a fever or other symptoms 48 hours after starting them.

Reducing the risk of spreading the infection

Twenty-four hours after your child has been diagnosed with scarlet fever and has started their course of antibiotics, they won’t be infectious. Within that first 24 hours you should take sensible precautions by separating their drinking glasses, cups, utensils, sheets, towels, toys and other shared objects from those of other family members. These items should be thoroughly washed in hot water with detergent and anyone handling them should wash their hands frequently. Any family members exhibiting symptoms such as a sore throat (with or without a rash) should be tested for strep infection.