الحساسية عند الأطفال

ما زال جهاز الهضم لدى طفلك في طور التطور – ما زال حساساً وهشاً جداً، لذا لا يمكنه التأقلم مع أي شيء غير الحليب قبل بلوغ 4-6 أشهر. مع نمو طفلك، تتغير شهيته وروتين رضاعته من أسبوع إلى آخر. قد تجدين أنه لا يزال جائعاً بعد الرضعة، أو ربما تشعرين بالقلق لأنه لا يأكل كما يجب أو تخشين أن يُصاب بالحساسية أو عدم التحمل.

يتطرق هذا الفصل إلى مشاكل الإرضاع الأكثر شيوعاً مثل الإمساك والترجيع (حيث لا يستطيع طفلك أن يُبقي طعامه داخل معدته). كما يناقش أيضاً أنواع الطعام التي قد تسبب الحساسية، عندما يصبح واجباً تقديم الأطعمة الصلبة له، ويقدم لك النصح حول طرق التقليص التدريجي للرضعات الليلية عندما يرضع طفلك جيداً أثناء النهار.

الإمساك عند الرضع

من الشائع أن يعاني الأطفال من الإمساك الذي قد يسبب لهم عدم الشعور بالراحة. هناك أسباب عديدة للإمساك – من التغيير في النظام الغذائي، إلى البرد الخفيف أو الجفاف. وقد يصبح حدوثه متكرراً بالنسبة إلى أطفال آخرين، وقد يدوم لفترات زمنية طويلة.

يمكنك في هذه الفقرة أن تتعلمي كيف تحددي ما إذا كان طفلك مصاباً بالإمساك على أساس حجم واتساق برازه. كما نقدم لك أفكاراً مفيدة حول كيفية تخفيف انزعاج طفلك – مثل كيف تتأكدين من أن رضعات طفلك قد حُضِّرت بالشكل المناسب وكيف تمنحين طفلك تدليكاً لطيفاً، وكل هذا قد يساعد.

الإمساك

بما أن كل طفل مختلف عن الآخر، لا يمكن تشخيص الإمساك بتكرار حركات الأمعاء، بل بحجم واتساق براز طفلك. إذا أصيب طفلك بالإمساك، يصبح برازه جافاً وصلباً وكبيراً أو صغيراً بشكل غير عادي. قد يشعره طرح هذا البراز بالتوتر أو الألم. لتجنب ألم طرح هذا البراز الصلب، يحاول بعض الأطفال لا شعورياً إيقاف حركة أمعائهم ما يسبب استمرار الإمساك. كما قد يسبب الإمساك قلة الشهية والانزعاج والغازات أو البراز ذي الرائحة الكريهة وقد تلاحظين أن طفلك يبدأ برفض الطعام. يكون براز الأطفال الرضع الذين يرضعون طبيعياً أكثر طراوة في العادة من براز الأطفال الذين يرضعون بالزجاجة، لهذا إذا كنت قد حولت مؤخراً إلى الإرضاع الصناعي، فقد تلاحظين تغيراً.

أسباب الإمساك

قد يسبب التغيير في النظام الغذائي، أو الجفاف، أو المرض البسيط مثل البرد، الإمساك لدى طفلك، لكن يصعب في حالات كثيرة تحديد السبب بالضبط. الأطفال الذين يرضعون طبيعياً أقل عرضة للإصابة بالإمساك لأن حليب الأم أسهل هضماً من الحليب المجفف.

طرق تخفيف انزعاج طفلك

  • أعطِ طفلك ماء مغلياً مبرداً يشربه بين الرضعات إذا كنت ترضعينه بالزجاجة، لكن لا تخففي تركيز الحليب الصناعي
  • إذا كنت تستخدمين الحليب الصناعي، تأكدي من أن رضعات طفلك قد حُضِّرت بالشكل المناسب (1 ملعقة لكل 30مل من الماء) – إن زيادة مسحوق الحليب المجفف تجعل الرضعة عالية التركيز
  • استخدمي زيت الأطفال الصغار لتدليك بطن طفلك برفق باتجاه عقارب الساعة – لكن احرصي على أن يبدو طفلك مسترخياً ومرتاحاً
  • حركي ساقي طفلك في حركة دائرية لتليين أي انسداد
  • قد يشجع الحمام الساخن حركة الأمعاء. عندما ينشف جسم طفلك، ضعي بعض الكريم أو الفازلين حول مؤخرته للتخفيف ومنع الألم.

كما يمكنك أن تجربي الحليب الصناعي الذي يحتوي على البريبايوتكس، إذ قد تساعد في تليين براز طفلك.

في حال كنت قلقة حيال صحة طفلك، استشيري طبيبتك أو خبير الصحة. وإذا كانت لديك أي أسئلة، يمكنك دوماً الاتصال بفريق عملنا على الرقم 6262 6458 800 (الإمارات) أو على الرقم 0097144209489 (للدول الأخرى). من السبت إلى الخميس من ٩ صباحاً إلى ٦ مساءً.

Baby Allergies

Your baby’s digestive system is still developing - it’s very sensitive and delicate, which is why they can’t cope with anything other than milk until around 4-6 months. As they grow, their appetite and feeding routines can seem to change from one week to the next.You might find that they’re still hungry after a feed, or perhaps you’re worried they’re not eating as much as they should or you’re concerned they have an allergy or intolerance.

This section looks at the most common feeding problems such as constipation and reflux (where your baby can’t keep their food down). It also looks at the sorts of foods that can cause allergies, when your baby should be introduced to solids, and it gives advice on ways to gradually reduce night feeds once your baby is feeding well during the day.

Tips for baby constipation

The causes of constipation

It’s common for babies to suffer from constipation and it can prove uncomfortable. There are varying causes of constipation – from a change in diet to a simple cold or dehydration. For other babies it becomes a frequent occurrence and can last for long periods of time.

In this article you can learn how to identify constipation based on the size and consistency of your baby’s stools. We also give you tips on how you can ease your baby’s discomfort – such as how to check your baby’s feeds are being made up properly and how to give your baby a gentle massage, which can all help.

Because every baby is different, constipation cannot be determined by the frequency of bowel movements but rather the size and consistency of your baby’s stools. If your baby is constipated, their stools will be dry and hard and either unusually small or large. Passing these stools may cause straining or pain. To avoid the pain of passing these hard stools, some babies subconsciously try and stop their bowel movements causing the constipation to continue. Constipation can also cause loss of appetite, discomfort and particularly smelly wind or stools and you may notice that your baby begins to refuse their food. Breastfed infants will usually have much softer stools than bottlefed babies, so if you have recently switched to bottlefeeding, you may notice a change.

The causes of constipation

A change of diet, dehydration or a minor illness like a cold can all cause your baby to become constipated but in many cases it’s difficult to pinpoint the exact cause. Breastfed babies are much less likely to suffer from it because breastmilk is more easily digested than formula milk.

Ways to ease your baby’s discomfort

  • Give your baby boiled, cooled water to drink in between feeds if you’re bottlefeeding, but don’t dilute formula.
  • If you’re using infant formula, make sure feeds are being made up correctly (1 scoop to each 30mls of water) – Too much infant formula powder will make the feed too concentrated
  • Use a little baby oil to gently massage your baby’s tummy in a clockwise direction – but make sure your baby seems relaxed and comfortable
  • Move your baby’s legs in a cycling motion to loosen any blockages
  • A warm bath can encourage bowel movements. Once dry, apply some cream or petroleum jelly around their bottom to soothe and prevent soreness

You could also try an infant formula with added prebiotics as they can help to soften your baby’s stools.

If you are at all concerned about your baby’s health, consult your doctor. And if you have any questions, you can always call our Careline team on 800 6458 6262 (UAE)/ +971 4 420 9489 (Other countries) between the hours of 9am and 6pm Saturday to Thursday.