الفطام

يعتبر فطام طفلك مرحلة مميزة لكل منكما. سيكتشف طفلك على مدى الأشهر القليلة القادمة عالماً جديداً تماماً من النكهات والتركيبات.

لمساعدتك على البدء بهذه المرحلة بشكل سلس، نقدم لك في هذا الفصل مجموعة من النصائح الخاصة بالفطام، بدءاً من أساسيات الفطام، وانتهاءً بطرق تحضير وصفاتك الشهية.

تعليم طفلك كيف يأكل

يولد طفلك وهو قادر على المص والبلع، مما يمكِّنه من الرضاعة من ثديك أو من الزجاجة. لكن عندما يصبح مستعداً لعملية الفطام، سيحتاج أن يتعلم كيف يأكل، ويعتاد على الإحساس بنكهات وتركيبات جديدة. تابعي القراءة لتعرفي المزيد عن هذه المرحلة المثيرة من التطور.

تعلم الأكل

عندما يُظهر طفلك علامات الاستعداد للفطام، يمكنه أن يبدأ بالتعلم كيف يأكل الأطعمة الصلبة أول مرة. بما أن تجربته الوحيدة في الأكل حتى الآن كانت من الثدي أو الزجاجة، فهو يعرف فقط كيف يرضع، ولهذا فالأكل بالنسبة إليه هو عبارة عن مهارة يلزم أن يتعلمها. ذلك يستوجب فهم كيف يحرك فمه ويقبل الطعام من الملعقة. تساعد هذه الدروس المبكرة عن الأكل في بناء عضلات فم طفلك. لا يلزم هذا فقط للتعامل مع القطع الأكبر من الطعام لاحقاً، بل ستكون مهمة لتطوير العضلات اللازمة للكلام.

قدمي له التركيبات بالتدريج

قد يبدو تعلم الأكل تحدياً، لكن جزءاً كبيراً منه هو حول تقديم تركيبات مختلفة بالتدريج. أولاً، يحتاج طفلك ببساطة أن يعتاد على الإحساس بالأطعمة الصلبة، ومن ثم يتعلم كيف يحرك الأكل في فمه من الأمام إلى الخلف قبل بلعه. لهذا السبب فإن التركيبات الطرية مثل العصيدة تعتبر مناسبة أكثر من غيرها عندما يبدأ طفلك الفطام، إذ أنه من السهل التعامل معها وهضمها.

إضافة القليل من التركيبات

عندما يصبح بإمكان طفلك التعامل مع المهروسات الطرية، تكون الخطوة التالية تقديم الأغذية مع زيادة التركيبات قليلاً. بهذا يتعلم طفلك كيف يمضغ، لأن عليه أن يحرك فكيه باتجاه الأعلى والأسفل ليجهز الطعام للبلع.

تقديم القطع الصغيرة

عندما يصبح بإمكان طفلك تناول الطعام مع زيادة القليل من التركيبات، يمكنك الانتقال إلى المرحلة الثالثة من الفطام والمضغ المتقدم عبر تقديم القطع والكتل الصغيرة.

أشكال وتركيبات للطفل

في الوقت الذي يبلغ فيه طفلك سن التدرج، يجب أن يكون مستعداً لمضغ المزيد من القطع والتركيبات الخاصة بعمر الطفل. قد يترتب عليك في هذه المرحلة بذل جهد إضافي لجعله يهتم بطعامه. يساعد التنوع في الغذاء وتقديمه له بشكل مسل على اجتذاب الطفل، إذ يصبح أكثر استقلالية ويتعلم الأكل بنفسه.

قدمي له النكهات الجديدة بالتدريج

مذاق الحليب العادي هو كل ما عرفه طفلك حتى الآن، لذا فإن تعلم الأكل يتعلق أيضاً بتعريف طفلك تدريجياً بنكهات جديدة. يفضل الأطفال الأغذية حلوة الطعم بشكل عام، لذا يكون تقبله النكهات الحلوة أكثر سهولة في البداية. تشمل أغذية الفطام المبكر المثالية الخضروات المهروسة مثل الجزر واللفت الأصفر والبطاطس والجزر الأبيض واليقطين والبطاطس الحلوة. وكذلك الفواكه المهروسة مثل الإجاص والتفاح والمشمش والموز والمانغو. عندما يستمتع طفلك بهذه الأغذية يصبح مستعداً لنكهات أكثر تعقيداً.

 

بما أنه قد عرف كل ما يفضله من نكهات الآن، يصبح من المهم تعريف طفلك إلى تشكيلة واسعة من الأغذية الحلوة واللذيذة قريباً.

في حال كنت ترغبين في الحصول على المزيد من الأفكار المفيدة حول الفطام، فإن خط أبتا أدفايس للأم والطفل الخاص بنا مستعد للمساعدة. إتصلي بنا على الرقم 6262 6458 800 (الإمارات) أو على الرقم 0097144209489 (للدول الأخرى).

Weaning

Weaning your baby is an exciting stage for both of you. Over the next few months, your baby will discover a whole new world of taste and texture.

To help you make a smooth start, this section is filled with weaning advice, from weaning basics to how to prepare your own tempting recipes.

Teaching your baby to eat

Your baby was born with the ability to suck and swallow, enabling them to feed from your breast or a bottle. But when they are ready for the process of weaning, they will need to learn how to eat, and get used to the sensation of new tastes and textures. Read on to learn more about this exciting stage of development.

Learning to eat

Once your baby is showing signs that they are ready for weaning , they can start learning how to eat their first solids. Since their only experience of feeding so far has been from a breast or bottle, they only know how to suckle, so eating is a skill they will need to learn. This involves understanding how to move their mouth and accept food from a spoon. These early lessons in eating will help build up your baby’s oral muscles. Not only will these be needed to manage bigger pieces of food later on, they will also be important for developing the muscles required for speech.

Introduce textures gradually

Learning how to eat may seem like a challenge but a large part of it is about introducing different textures gradually. First, your baby will simply need to get used to the sensation of solid food and then learn how to move the food from the front to the back of their mouth before swallowing. That’s why smooth textures such as porridge are best when your baby begins weaning, as they’re easy to manage and digest.

Adding a little more texture

Once your baby can manage smooth purées, the next step is to introduce foods with a little more texture . This will start teaching your baby how to chew, as they will need to move their jaws up and down to get the food ready for swallowing.

Introducing small pieces

When your baby has mastered eating foods with a little more texture, they can move on to the third stage of weaning and more advanced chewing, with the introduction of small pieces and lumps.

Toddler shapes and textures

By the time your baby reaches toddlerhood, they should be ready to chew on more toddler sized pieces and textures. At this stage, you may have to work a bit harder to keep them interested in their food. Fun shapes and variety will help keep them entertained as they become more independent and learn to feed themselves.

Slowly introduce new tastes

Up until now, your baby has only known the taste of their usual milk, so learning to eat is also about gradually introducing your baby to new tastes. Babies have a natural preference for sweeter foods, so sweet flavours are easier for them to accept at the beginning. Ideal early weaning foods include puréed vegetables like carrot, potato, parsnip, pumpkin, squash and sweet potato; as well as puréed fruit such as pear, apple, apricot, banana and mango. Once they are happy with these, they will be ready for more adventurous flavours.

Since all taste preferences are learnt, it’s important to introduce your baby to a wide variety of sweet and savoury foods early on.

If you’d like some more weaning tips, our Careline team is on hand to help. Call us on 800 6458 6262 (UAE)/ +971 4 420 9489 (Other countries) between the hours of 9am and 6pm Saturday to Thursday.