صحة الطفل

يستغرق جهاز المناعة لدى الطفل وقتاً لينمو بشكل كامل، ومن هنا تأتي أهمية ضمان أن يحصل على المساعدة من المواد المغذية المناسبة. إذا كنت ترضعين طفلك طبيعياً، فإن المواد المغذية الأساسية، والعوامل الوقائية مثل الأجسام المضادة تأتي مباشرة من حليبك. كما يؤمن حليبك السكريات قليلة الوحدات الداعمة حيوياً ما يشجع نمو الجراثيم الصحية لحمايتها.

يناقش هذا الفصل كيفية عمل جهاز المناعة عند طفلك، وكيف أن كل شيء من الولادة الطبيعية إلى التحصين ضد الأمراض يمكن أن يساعد على تعزيزه.

الأطفال الخدج

ولادة طفلك قبل أوانه قد تشكل لك نوعاً من الصدمة، ومن الطبيعي أن تقلقي حيال صحته. اقرأي المزيد حول تكوين روابط قوية مع طفلك الخديج، وذلك باعتصار حليبك لتوفير التغذية والمناعة اللازمتين، وما يحعل الولادة مبكرة لا يعني بالضرورة تأخراً في النمو.

يُعتبر الأطفال خدجاً أو مولودين قبل الأوان إذا ولدوا قبل انقضاء 37 أسبوعاً من الحمل. يحتاج الأطفال الخدج إلى عناية فائقة، ويحتاج معظمهم إلى مراقبة حذرة في الحاضنة مع استمرار نموهم. عندما يصبح جهازهم التنفسي والأجهزة الأخرى قوية بما يكفي، تتم العناية بهم في وحدة حديثي الولادة حتى يصبحوا مستعدين لمغادرة المستشفى إلى المنزل.

هناك الكثير من الأسباب التي قد تؤدي إلى الولادة المبكرة، هذا لا يعني أن حالات الحمل المستقبلية ستنتهج نفس المنحى. لتطمئني قليلاً، اعلمي أن تسع أمهات من أصل عشرة من اللواتي كان طفلهن الأول خديجاً تحملن لاحقاً أكثر من 37 أسبوعاً بشكل آمن.

التواصل مع طفلك الخديج

حتى الأطفال الخدج يكونون قادرين على تمييز رائحتك وصوتك. لذا فمع أنك قد لا تستطيعين حمل طفلك بعد، فإن التحدث إليه والجلوس بقربه يساعد على التقارب بينكما. إذا سُمح لك بملاطفة طفلك وتدليكه، فقد يكون هذا مصدراً مثالياً للراحة لكل منكما.

قد تشكل لك زيارة طفلك الخديج لحظة مليئة بالعواطف المتضاربة، ومن الطبيعي في هذه الحالة اختبار مشاعر العجز والقلق. احرصي على الحصول على قسط كبير من الراحة وكلي جيداً. وفي بعض الأيام، قد يكون من الأفضل الطلب إلى شريكك زيارة طفلكما بينما ترتاحين في المنزل.

نمو طفلك الخديج

لا تسري مراحل النمو العادية على الأطفال المولودين قبل أوانهم. من الطبيعي أن يواجه الطفل الخديج بعض التحديات في أسابيعه أو أشهره الأولى. لكن ليس بالضرورة أن تؤثر الولادة المبكرة في نموه لاحقاً. يعتمد نمو طفلك على كم مضى من حملك عندما ولد وعدة عوامل أخرى. مع الحب والتشجيع، سيصل إلى تلك المراحل في الوقت المناسب.

إرضاع طفلك الخديج

إن اعتصار حليبك هو الطريقة الأفضل لتقديم التغذية الأساسية التي يحتاجها طفلك، ومنحه فوائد تقوية المناعة التي يوفرها حليبك. إذا لاحظت أن مؤونة حليبك تتقلب، فإن عناق طفلك وملاطفته يمكن أن تحفز إنتاج الحليب، كما يفعل اعتصار الحليب أثناء القرب من طفلك أو الاعتصار باليد. قد تكتشفين أيضاً أن الحمام الدافئ أو التدليك الذاتي اللطيف يساعد على ذلك. كما يمكنك ايضاً تجربة مضخات مختلفة: قد تناسبك إحداها أكثر من غيرها.

Baby Health

A baby’s immune system takes time to develop fully, which is why it’s so important to ensure it gets a helping hand from the right nutrients. If you’re breastfeeding, key nutrients and protective factors like antibodies come directly from your breastmilk. Your breastmilk will also provide prebiotic oligosaccharides, which encourage the growth of healthy bacteria to protect them.

This section looks at how your baby’s immune system operates; how everything from a natural childbirth to immunisation against diseases can help to boost it.

How to Take Care of a Premature Baby

Caring for your premature baby.

If your baby is born prematurely, it’s likely to be a shock and you’ll naturally be worried about their wellbeing. Read about forming strong bonds with your premature baby, expressing your milk to provide necessary nourishment and immunity, and why their early arrival doesn’t necessarily mean late development.

Babies are considered premature or pre-term if they’re born before 37 weeks of pregnancy. Premature babies need extra care and most will need careful monitoring in an incubator while they continue to develop. When their respiratory and other systems are strong enough, they’ll be cared for in the neonatal unit until they’re ready to go home.

There are a myriad of reasons why a baby might arrive prematurely; it doesn’t mean future pregnancies will follow the same pattern. Reassuringly, nine out of ten mums whose first baby was premature carry subsequent pregnancies safely beyond 37 weeks.

Bonding with Your Premature Baby

Even the earliest premature babies are able to recognise your smell and voice. So although you may not be able to hold your baby yet, talking to them and sitting close by will help build closeness between you. If you’re allowed to stroke and massage your baby, it can be a great source of comfort for the both of you.

Visiting your premature baby can be an emotional experience and it’s natural to go through feelings of helplessness and anxiety. Be sure to get plenty of rest and eat well. There may be days when it’s better to let your partner visit your baby while you take a proper break at home.

Your Premature Baby’s Development

Usual developmental milestones don’t apply to babies born prematurely. Premature baby development will naturally face some challenges in their first weeks or months. But being born pre-term doesn’t necessarily affect their development late on.

Their progress will depend on how far along you were in your pregnancy when they arrived and many other factors. With love and encouragement, they’ll reach those milestones in their own time.

Feeding Your Premature Baby

Expressing your milk is the best way to provide the essential nourishment your baby needs, as well as giving them the immunity boosting benefits of breastmilk. If you find that your milk supply fluctuates, cuddling or stroking your baby can stimulate milk production, as can expressing while close to your baby and expressing by hand. You may find a warm bath or gentle self massage helps. It’s also worth experimenting with different pumps: there may be one that’s better for you.